We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating but everything else is spectacular!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Athens Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Athens Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Athens Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 North Finley Street, Athens, GA 30601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Big Memorial Day!
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Needs updating but everything else is spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The location of the hotel is wonderful! Walking distance to downtown and UGA. We stayed there when moving my daughter in for her Junior year. They have a great updated lobby and the staff is very friendly. The room was spacious and clean. If I had to say anything negative it would be that it is hard to see from the road unless you know it is there. The first time we stayed there we missed it 2 times before finally arriving. Also, the hotel could use a little updating on the exterior. However, the location and staff as well as amenities made it still worthy of an excellent rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    43
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
24
21
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Limón, Aragua, Venezuela
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is located next to the heart of downtown Athens, That means next to UGA and right next to all restaurant and bars...Rooms are well kept and simple...nothing fancy. Free parking for downtown is good. Free WIFI.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on most of our visits to Athens. It is in a great location as it is within walking distance to UGA, restaurants and the freshman dorms, which was great on move in day. I will say this hotel staff is so friendly and great on recommending restaurants.

The room is clean and the workout area is small, but has weights, a treadmill and an elliptical machine. There is a pool and a nice veranda to sit and watch the comings and goings.

It is a good place to stay and we have learned to make our reservations early during UGA Football.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ojai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was by far one of the most friendly and service oriented hotels I've ever experienced. We had a large group using the hotel for a family wedding and they accommodated our every need... and then some.
The food counter had an adequate menu if you couldn't get out for breakfast lunch or dinner, and the pool was quiet, clean and comfortable. A few of the chamber maids even came out and chatted, offering us popsicles and cold drinks. I believe Kevin managed this facility (?) Thumbs up to a great job and a great staff.
Definitely would recommend this place!!

Room Tip: I didn't really see the rooms with the door accessing the parking lot, but that may be a plus fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Hotel was very nice and clean. Housekeeping was efficient, quickly cleaned our room, made the beds and was gone in a flash. No free breakfast, but all you can drink free coffee in the lobby. The Marriott was quite, but across the street there is another hotel and yes it was Friday night and its a college town and yes there was a party going on! Lots of guys and girls around the pool at the other hotel with load music up until 11 pm. So if you show-up on a weekend ask for a room away from the street between the two hotels. I plan many more trips to Athens and will stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I was looking for a place to stay around Athens, GA on a busy weekend. Many places were booked when I started looking. At first I was uncertain about this place because of its location. It is on a side street with another seedy looking hotel behind it. The nearest busy street also look somewhat shabby. But, I was pleasantly surprised when we check in. This is a very nice example of the Marriott Courtyard chain. We had a room at the end of the hall on the second floor (there are only two floors) overlooking the parking lot. It does not sound great, but there were sufficient trees to make the view pleasant. The room was clean and quiet with the usual amenities including free wi-fi that actually worked well. The hotel also has a nice informal restaurant that does serve been and wine. It is the type of place where you order at a counter and they bring the food to your table, wherever you choose to sit. The inner courtyard around the swimming pool was very attractive and a nice place to sit and relax.

The hotel is close to the downtown area that has nice restaurants and close to the University of Georgia campus. My only complaint is that the air conditioning was noisy and drafty. I cooled the room down before bed and then turned it off and that worked well. If I need to be in this area again, I would definitely give this place high consideration.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hall away from the ice machine and elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here while in Athens. It was really close to downtown and walking distance to pretty much everything.

The front desk staff was very helpful and helped us figure out what to do while in the city.

You could park very close to your room so you didn't have to cart your bags too far. There are only 2 floors here and are elevators but we opted for the stairs as our room was closer.

The room was very clean and comfortable as was the bathroom.

We had a very nice stay and would stay here again if back in Athens.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Athens Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Athens Downtown

Address: 166 North Finley Street, Athens, GA 30601
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Athens Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Athens Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Athens Downtown Hotel Athens
Athens Marriott
Athens Courtyard
Courtyard Athens Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Athens Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.