We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If ever in Athens Georgia again, I will definitely stay here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Athens to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Athens
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   170 North Milledge Ave., Corner of Broad St. and Milledge Ave., Athens, GA 30601-3802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Athens
1 review
“If ever in Athens Georgia again, I will definitely stay here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was in town on November 21, 2014 to see BlackBerry Smoke concert. Our trip was planned 2 months in advance and I searched the internet in advance to make reservations for our room. Did not book a room anywhere because of bad reviews on hotel/motels I checked out, decided to just go to Athens & hope for the best to get a decent room. Stopped in Macon for gas and grabbed a coupon book, seen a coupon for Best Western and decided to call. Even tho it was a game weekend front desk said they would honor the coupon. We arrived, got our room, was extremely happy with the price and the room! Thank you so much Best Western, you were definitely the icing on our cake for our trip!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAthens170, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello, mchristy63! Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a kind review. We are happy to hear that we were able to get you in during the UGA football weekend, and for such a good rate! Normally we are sold out for Football, but due to an excused cancellation and low demand for the lesser game, we had a room left for you at the coupon rate. This is a rare occurrence, but we are always willing to help our customers when the opportunity presents itself. We hope the Blackberry Smoke concert went well and hope to see you next time they're in town! Thanks, if you ever need anything else feel free to contact us at 706-546-7311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    56
    26
    10
    10
See reviews for
56
39
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I have stayed in many better hotels in the Athens area. We found the service to be lacking. Notably, our room was never cleaned the second day of our stay. The duvet covers were ripped and accent pillows appeared to be dirty. Additionally, this is a motel style property with exterior doors, yet there was no in-room safe.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Its kind of pricey for an outside door motel (although the people that came without a reservation received a much lower price that was probably more reasonable). The heater/air conditioner constantly running was very loud and it couldn't decide on a temperature either. That made it difficult to sleep. My son did like the waffle maker, but it was very cramped at breakfast (not a lot of space for people or the food put out). They have tried to fit a lot of stuff (table, chairs) into the room, which is nice, but cramped. I felt it was clean and comfortable, just nothing special.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWAthens170, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thougts Hkp007! I am glad to hear to you did enjoy many parts of your stay, and am sorry to hear that there were some minor problems you and your son experienced. We do look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Athens, and will do better on your next stay with us. Any other thoughts/ideas you would like to share, please don't hesitate to call me direct. 706-546-7311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We usually stay at this hotel when we are in Athen, GA. It is close to the university and clean and comfortable. The staff has always been very nice and the breakfast is small, but satisfying. The only problem we have ever had is a slow draining sink.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Thank you for your response B9234VSavannah! I am thrilled to hear that you regularly stay with us when you all come into town. We take great pride in providing customer service that goes above and beyond the normal call of duty. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, we look forward to seeing you again soon! Give us a call should you need anything! 706-546-7311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

From the courteous front desk staff to the friendly housekeepers, everyone at this hotel made us feel welcome. The rates were extremely reasonable. The room we stayed in was unbelievably clean (and this is coming from a neat freak!). The breakfast was nice for complimentary, and it's my understanding that they'll serve hot breakfast once they add a tower to their property. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing Erin W! We take great pride in providing an excellent all around experience for our customers- from the clerks at the front desk to the cleanliness of our rooms, our team strives to go the extra mile on a daily basis. As you mentioned we soon will be adding a tower to our property and are very excited for what we will have to offer future guests. Don't hesitate to call should you need anything! Have a great day! 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

It is a motel, and it definitely has the "motel feeling", I mean, I would say it is a 2 or 2.5 star hotel but the Best Western Athens was very clean and beds were very comfortable. We spent only one night in a room with two full-size beds. Since we were traveling with a baby, we moved the bedside table in between the two beds and put both beds together. Our "surprise" was to see that the area below the bed we moved was clean (so the hotel janitors really do a good job and vacuum below the beds!). There was free breakfast (cereal, yogur, eggs, bread/bagels, muffins, waffle) and free wifi, and that worked well for us. Only talked to the receptionist for a second, but was nice. We had some young neighbors that were outside their room, next to ours, for a while (15-20 min) talking with lots of f-words, not loud at all, just having a conversation among themselves, but we could clearly hear them from our room (we actually laughed about it). Nevertheless, they stopped and went inside their room or left before 9 pm. It didn't bothered our baby, who was falling sleep around that time. We were not bothered by any other noise or hear any other neighbor during the night... it was pretty tranquil. For a short stay, one night, and just going to the hotel for sleeping, I would definitely stay there again. It was a great price, it is a great location in the middle of Athens, it was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Thank you for your review carlos227869! As you mentioned we are a clean and comfortable option within the Athens market. We take great pride in offering guests reasonably priced rooms that are quiet and away from the "hustle and bustle"- yet in a location that is still centrally located to most everything in Athens. I appreciate you review, and will be sure to share your remarks with the rest of my team. Anything you should need, don't hesitate to call! 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Enjoyed my stay. The hotel is directly opposite the Athens location of the Atlanta "institution" The Varsity. Downtown is about 8 blocks away down and up a hill. The front desk staff was very friendly. While an older hotel, the BW has been kept in good shape with a recent remodeling. The hotel will soon be replaced with a new BW Plus hotel, drawings displayed in the lobby. I found everything in the room to be clean and comfortable. I especially enjoyed the sanitized remote control, the free internet and the fridge. While the hotel is located near the road, I did not hear any road noise or other loud sounds, and slept great. Breakfast was average, but offered most of the basics. Definitely planning on staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Owner at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Thank you for your contribution seriousworldwanderer! Like you mentioned, we are directly opposite the famous Varsity restaurant and their chili dogs are a a very popular choice among our guests. We will soon be going under a major construction project that will feature a 7 story tower that will sit right on Milledge Avenue- we hope you are able to come back and see our finished product (even though we will be open during construction). Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts on our TripAdvisor page! If you should need anything, don't hesitate to call! 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Athens

Address: 170 North Milledge Ave., Corner of Broad St. and Milledge Ave., Athens, GA 30601-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athens
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Athens 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Milledge Avenue in the heart of Athens Historic District. Cozy, Courtyard, layout with controlled access parking facility surrounded by beautifully restored Antebellum Homes which serve as University of Georgia Sorority and Fraternity Houses. This Best Western is only 5 city blocks from Downtown Athens and the University of Georgia Campus. Several outstanding restaurants are within walking distance of the hotel and dozens are less than 1 mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Athens Hotel Athens
Best Western Colonial Hotel
Athens Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.