We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Acceptable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Athens to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Athens
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   170 North Milledge Ave., Corner of Broad St. and Milledge Ave., Athens, GA 30601-3802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Athens
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Totally Acceptable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

FORGET THIS PLACE...unless you want a reasonably priced, clean, convenient overnight stay with a good breakfast. Nothing to brag about, but nothing to complain about either. Just what we needed. We were there on a non-football weekend and were pleased in every way. We walked over to the "Why is this place so famous?" restaurant and were a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Love the review ForgetThisPlace. I actually had to do a double take upon reading your opening phrase! It thrills me to hear you enjoyed your stay, and mention the words "reasonable and clean" in your comment. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Have a great day! 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    68
    32
    14
    13
See reviews for
68
44
22
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Deland Fl
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Good area to be if you want to party with the Bull Dogs,located just down the street from down town where all the pubs, like I said, party time, place comes alive when football game is there.book early, good rooms, walking distance to bars, food, service was good,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Glad you enjoyed staying with us scootert2. You are exactly right, with football season now in full swing, Athens certainly does come alive- especially on Football Saturdays! Having the downtown district minutes away, like you mentioned, is a huge plus for our customers. We appreciate your review, and hope to see you again. Call us should you need anything. 706-546-7311 -Tripp Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have been in the hospitality industry for over 20 years and worked every position from property manager, corporate auditor, to travel agent and was discussed with the runaround I received from this property. I booked the property when I first got the news that my college team would be playing in Athens. I booked rooms for my self and my tailgate group (7 rooms) 10 months prior. As the August date approached my group canceled and dropped off for several reason, so I informed the hotel several weeks prior to change my reservations from 7 rooms to 1 so the other 6 rooms could be put back into inventory and sold (and at a higher rate). Upon arrival I was upset to hear my reservation had been canceled mot because of an error but because an hour before at 9pm because my credit card expiration date had expired in the 10 months since the reservation had been made. I was not aware of this and it was not mentioned to me when I canceled the other reservations. I explained the reason I was late due to a multiple car wreck on the road to the hotel which delayed my arrival. I asked if they still has rooms available and was told they did and I saw several people walk in and rent rooms (without reservations) while I waited in line for service. The room I was offered was twice my original booking price and I had to stay a minimum of two nights. I asked if an exception could be made since I had dealt with this property in good faith a booking and canceling the extra rooms as soon as I knew my friends would not be using them. The clerk Hunter was professional but he could not make that exception. So I asked for him to call his manager. I explained that not only that I worked for Auto Club South as a training manager and ACS’s preferred hotel chain is Best Western but I am also a BW Gold Crown member with 99 BW hotel nights in the past 4 years. The assistant manager Kara instructed the clerk to turn me away. As you can tell this property has little value for its customers beyond how much money it can make off of them. I am only making this review at this time because I feared reprisal from my job for putting in a public negative review on our preferred hotel chain but now I have changed employers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
EagleMapper-
I am very puzzled upon reading your review. When did you actually stay with us? You mentioned names of employees that have not been here in over 2+ years! Your review just doesn't reflect our current property. Since you have stayed (however long ago), we have changed management, done major renovations, changed policies, etc. To give us a poor rating on our TripAdvisor page at such a later date, just confuses me. I truly feel that you cannot accurately review our property based on your stay that was in the distant past. If you feel led to, please contact me directly at 706-546-7311. My name is Tripp, and I would love to talk with you personally about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We arrived late and had no problems checking in. The room was clean and well appointed. During our 2 day stay we encountered not problems. Have stayed here in the past as my daughter and her family live here. They have upgraded the rooms since our last visit in 2012 and have done a great job. This is my go to choice, reasonably priced, clean and in a central location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your contribution! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, and pleased to hear that you like our latest upgrades. We hope that you had fun on your visit to Athens, while celebrating your grandson's 1st birthday! Hope to see you again! 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This Best Western fills up quickly probably due to the reasonable rates and nice clean rooms. The king size bed was great and the flat screen TV had many cable selections. A microwave and refrigerator are also in the rooms. One nice touch was a recharging station by the bed for cellphones, laptops, etc. Bathtub was pretty slippery...be careful! Breakfast area had nice selection but no attention from an employee during our 20 minute visit. So garbage can was overflowing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your contribution SavannahBill! You mentioned two key things that we strive to offer all of our customers- a comfortable/clean room at an affordable price! I am obviously a little biased towards our property but we strongly feel consumers can't go wrong with our product because of the value we offer. Glad you liked the plug-in we added next to the beds, those are fairly new and have garnered positive comments. Thanks again for your review, we hope to see you on your next visit to town! 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very central location in Athens, Ga with easy access to everything. Very comfortable and clean rooms, great Free breakfast every morning, swimming pool, great and friendly staff from check in to room housekeepers. Will definitely stay here again in the future when in Athens. Recommend advance booking as they fill up almost every night!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Richard H, we appreciate your review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay while in Athens, and that our team made your stay a comfortable one. I will be sure to pass your comments along to my fellow staff members. Should you need anything, be sure to give us a call! 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Ga., United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stay at the Best Western in Athens, Ga. probably 40 weeks a year. The owners and staff always take care of any issue I might have, which is seldom. They even try to book me in the same room as much as possible to give me a feeling of "home away from home". Mr. and Mrs. Moore, the owners, have become friends, not just someone that rents me a room for the week. Their son, Tripp, also makes sure I'm taken care of when I stay with them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for the review Chuck. It has been fun getting to know you over the years, and we appreciate you being such a loyal guest as well as a member of the Best Western Rewards program. As always, let us know if you should need anything at all. I am sure we will be seeing you around the property as always! 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Athens

Address: 170 North Milledge Ave., Corner of Broad St. and Milledge Ave., Athens, GA 30601-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#6 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Athens 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Athens is conveniently located near the beautiful University of Georgia Campus and is a proud member of Coach Mark Richt's UGA Football Dawg family. The hotel is surrounded by Pre-Civil War Antebellum homes which now serve as boutique shops, as well as UGA sorority and fraternity houses. Conveniently located less than a mile away, you will find the Athens Downtown shopping area which includes musical night life, and award winning restaurants. For passing travelers, the Best Western motel is conveniently located located near 441 North and South, with a staff ready to assist with any traveling questions. Make sure to stop by the world-famous Varsity Restaurant located right across the street! Best Western Athens is pleased to announce that we are now under construction on our new tower that will sit just off of historic Milledge Avenue. With this project, we will become a Best Western Plus upon completion. In the tower, we will be adding 55 guest rooms that will be interior corridor and 100% smoke free. All guests will have access to a hot complimentary breakfast every morning- next to this breakfast area will be meeting space that can host all kinds of events from wedding parties to business meetings. Guests will also have access to a 600 square foot workout facility as well as a spa to relax in during their free time. All rooms come with free Wi-Fi of course, and access to a business center that can be utilized to print documents if necessary. The future looks bright for us here at Best Western Athens! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Athens Hotel Athens
Best Western Colonial Hotel
Athens Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.