We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Youngest grandson's 1st birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Athens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Athens
170 North Milledge Ave., Corner of Broad St. and Milledge Ave., Athens, GA 30601-3802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #6 of 21 hotels in Athens
A TripAdvisor Member
“Youngest grandson's 1st birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We arrived late and had no problems checking in. The room was clean and well appointed. During our 2 day stay we encountered not problems. Have stayed here in the past as my daughter and her family live here. They have upgraded the rooms since our last visit in 2012 and have done a great job. This is my go to choice, reasonably priced, clean and in a central location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your contribution! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, and pleased to hear that you like our latest upgrades. We hope that you had fun on your visit to Athens, while celebrating your grandson's 1st birthday! Hope to see you again! 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    52
    23
    10
    10
See reviews for
48
37
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This Best Western fills up quickly probably due to the reasonable rates and nice clean rooms. The king size bed was great and the flat screen TV had many cable selections. A microwave and refrigerator are also in the rooms. One nice touch was a recharging station by the bed for cellphones, laptops, etc. Bathtub was pretty slippery...be careful! Breakfast area had nice selection but no attention from an employee during our 20 minute visit. So garbage can was overflowing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your contribution SavannahBill! You mentioned two key things that we strive to offer all of our customers- a comfortable/clean room at an affordable price! I am obviously a little biased towards our property but we strongly feel consumers can't go wrong with our product because of the value we offer. Glad you liked the plug-in we added next to the beds, those are fairly new and have garnered positive comments. Thanks again for your review, we hope to see you on your next visit to town! 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very central location in Athens, Ga with easy access to everything. Very comfortable and clean rooms, great Free breakfast every morning, swimming pool, great and friendly staff from check in to room housekeepers. Will definitely stay here again in the future when in Athens. Recommend advance booking as they fill up almost every night!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Richard H, we appreciate your review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay while in Athens, and that our team made your stay a comfortable one. I will be sure to pass your comments along to my fellow staff members. Should you need anything, be sure to give us a call! 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Ga., United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stay at the Best Western in Athens, Ga. probably 40 weeks a year. The owners and staff always take care of any issue I might have, which is seldom. They even try to book me in the same room as much as possible to give me a feeling of "home away from home". Mr. and Mrs. Moore, the owners, have become friends, not just someone that rents me a room for the week. Their son, Tripp, also makes sure I'm taken care of when I stay with them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for the review Chuck. It has been fun getting to know you over the years, and we appreciate you being such a loyal guest as well as a member of the Best Western Rewards program. As always, let us know if you should need anything at all. I am sure we will be seeing you around the property as always! 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Front desk clerk and housekeeper need to remember who signs their check. The front desk clerk was unhelpful and unfriendly. The housekeeper wanted to argue with me about my conversation with the front desk and the Best Western Reservation number.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
I apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay Debra A. I have some notes that you were wanting to have a 1 P.M. checkout when our actual departure time is at 11 A.M. Your request was honored, however there seems to have been a communication error between the front desk and housekeeping. For that I do apologize. We hope to see you again in the future. 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Room was comfortable, staff was friendly and helpful in all ways, towels always available, close to everything, pool was awesome. Quiet and peaceful...plenty of relaxation...Great breakfast. Clean and fresh...bed was wonderful. Would recommend to everyone young and old alike.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
That is great to hear Carletta T! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to serve you. We will see you soon! 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The hotel is close to everything in Athens. It rained a lot - so we actually spent a good amount of our stay IN the hotel and we weren't lacking anything. The accommodations were comfortable; staff was friendly; pool was refreshing! We are planning on more trips to Athens and will most likely stay at the Best Western again as it had everything that we needed - and more!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for the contribution to our page LaundryMatt088022011! It sounds like you all had an excellent stay, despite the rain. Hopefully, it didn't ruin any big plans! Your review touches on what we aim to offer all guests- comfort, cleanliness, and outstanding customer service. We hope to see you and your family the next time your'e in town. Please call if you need anything! 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Athens

Address: 170 North Milledge Ave., Corner of Broad St. and Milledge Ave., Athens, GA 30601-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#6 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on prestigious Milledge Avenue in the heart of Athens Historic District. Cozy, Courtyard, layout with controlled access parking facility surrounded by beautifully restored Antebellum Homes which serve as University of Georgia Sorority and Fraternity Houses. This Best Western is only 5 city blocks from Downtown Athens and the University of Georgia Campus. Several outstanding restaurants are within walking distance of the hotel and dozens are less than 1 mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Athens Hotel Athens
Best Western Colonial Hotel
Athens Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.