We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice breakfast stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's Boy

Mama's Boy
197 Oak Street, Athens, GA 30601
706-548-6249
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 342 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Seafood, Vegetarian, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice breakfast stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

the parking can be difficult but worth a stop. The breakfast food was good and great biscuits
Pretty noisy when busy but the staff is really friendly. A young crowd today at least.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    50
    23
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“You just can't forget Mama's Boy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I don't know where to begin.

There's the traditional Mam'a Boy Biscuit Sandwich, or the tofu n' veggies, or the GRITS (and I'm not actually a fan of grits anywhere else), or simply any other dish you pick-THE FOOD HERE IS GOOD.

Nice waiters, a homey feel, and of course, the strawberry lemonade!

It is all wonderful.

Oh, and I should mention how much I LOVE the biscuits. My favorites, ever.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chickamauga, Georgia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great way to start a day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

First the one and only negative...parking. The parking was hard to come by, but we managed to get a place after a bit of time and is was delightful from then on. We called ahead...thank goodness...and were seated about 10 minutes after we arrived. There were a LOT of people waiting at about noon on Saturday, but the line moved quickly. Anyway, we were seated on the back porch and our server came quickly. I chose the Georgia Peach French Toast, one daughter got the tofu stir fry and the other got a fried chicken biscuit. EVERYTHING was fresh and tasty. The french toast was nicely done, it came with pecans that were yummy and a peach compote type mixture that was quite nice. Next time I believe I will order extra peaches and pecans. The stir fry was a bit spicy and plentiful. The biscuit that came with the stir fry opened us up to a little secret sitting on the table. A squeeze bottle held the most luscious berry jam....oh....my.....it was wonderful on top of the huge fluffy, crunchy biscuit. My other daughter, who does not even like biscuits was enjoying each bite of her chicken biscuit...which was huge also. The portions are very large, and every bite was delightful. I will definitely go back on my next trip to Athens!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estill Springs, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fun place for lunch or breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Everything was good... But, what's up with virtually NO pimento cheese on the pimento cheese sandwich??? It was like a layer of mayo.., not enough to actually taste.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Killer breakfast, sense price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We tried this place on the fly for a Saturday morning. The sausage gravey with biscuits were amazing with tyke gravy. The sausage patties were perfect the bacon was lean full of flavor-not processing chemicals.. My wife got the special risotto cakes w/poached eggs, out of this world!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Boy also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Boy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama's Boy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.