We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   390 E Washington St, Athens, GA 30601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25% Book Early
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel in downtown Athens. I attended a conference at the University of Georgia and it was about a 5 minute drive. The hotel staff was very helpful in giving directions on campus as well as recommending restaurants. There are many restaurants and pubs within easy walking distance. The hotel is very clean and the beds are great. Well worth the money! There is a breakfast buffet with made to order omelets for about $10.00.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    110
    41
    11
    6
See reviews for
99
75
12
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
372 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is a very nice property in a good location in Athens. You are within 2-3 blocks of a dozen great restaurants and the hotel is nice and clean. You have to pay $10/night for parking which never excites me. I actually stayed on 2 separate occasions in the same week. The first night, the a/c in the room was very loud and woke me up several times when it cut on. I arrived late and the remote did not work either. No big deal really but I had to get that addressed before I could settle in. I did not complain about the a/c because I was in a hurry when I left. The second night (later in the week, different room) was much quieter. Between room rate, taxes and parking, I paid $200 for the 2nd night. The Hampton a few miles outside downtown is almost half as much and though not as nice, is arguably a much better deal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
182 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here several times on our way home to Tallahassee from Pennsylvania. The hotel is clean and comfortable with excellent parking for hotel guests. It is a short walk to Broad Street with its many restaurants and bars on the edge of campus. When the University is in session the town is alive with interesting students.

RGinTally

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Located in walking distance of everything in downtown Athens, our family stayed here one night while we checked out the town. Very clean, comfortable hotel, good beds and great breakfast and bar(had some excellent local draft brews, Terrapin Brewery I think). Nice indoor pool. Friendly staff. Just a very cool hotel, one of the 2 best of our week long road trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Very nice hotel in a great location! Walking distance to the UGA campus and downtown area. Rooms were very nice and clean. The beds were comfortable and our hall was very quiet. The breakfast was the best I have ever had!! The grits and waffles were superb and the diningroom staff was so friendly. Can't wait to stay again soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We, along with most of the family & wedding party, stayed at the the Hilton Garden Inn for our nephew's wedding in Sept 2011. Since the bride & groom were alumni of UGA they decided to have both the wedding and reception on campus. Hotel was very convenient for this, reception was right across the street. Rooms were clean and comfortble and the hotel reception area was a great place for everyone to sit and visit together. This was our first visit to Athens and we loved it here! We'd like to come back some time and would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during the weekend using Hilton Honors Points. The hotel is in a great location. There are dozens of restaurants, nightclubs, and bars within a few blocks and the North Campus of UGA is only two blocks away. The rooms were very clean and good sized. I forgot my toiletries bag; the staff provided a complimentary toothbrush, razor and shaving cream. The rooms have a microwave and mini-frig and there is a 24 hours pantry next to the front desk for drinks and snacks. Rooms were quiet.

We didn't eat on site as there as so many good restaurants within walking distance. Will definitely stay here next time we are in Athens.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.3 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#2 of 21 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Athens Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#5 of 21 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
6.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown

Address: 390 E Washington St, Athens, GA 30601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athens
#4 Family Hotel in Athens
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown Hotel Athens
Hilton Athens
Athens Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.