We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grit

The Grit
199 Prince Ave, Athens, GA 30601-2400
706-543-6592
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 331 restaurants in Athens
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

A must-try place in Athens, our favorite there for over 10 years now. Perfect college town quirky atmosphere, but with no weird music playing. A vegetarian place that does not feel or taste like it. Great prices and friendly service, but the food is what is so marvelous. Almost everything is their own make, even the bread, granola, desserts, and macaroni. A true delight every time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    52
    51
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Grit will make you rethink vegetarian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was a little hesitant to try an all vegetarian restaurant but give the Grit a chance and will change your opinion on what vegetarian food can be. I tried the tofu reuben and it was excellent, the tofu really did taste like pastrami. It was sliced thin as well to make the texture pretty similar to the real thing. The veggie burgers are thick and have a good texture. The noodle dishes and stir fry dishes were also very well received. The large selections of cakes are a great end to the meal. Even the staunchest carnivores should try the Grit, you will be surprised.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Try the Grasshopper Cake!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The food here is pretty great, especially since it's all vegetarian!

What I will come back for any day though, is the grasshopper cake. The grasshopper cupcake was amazing too, but that cake-just simply tooo good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Vegetarian but for everyone!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Love every meal we have here! We have brought people who are not vegetarians who loved everything too. They always have great specials and a lot of variety. Desserts are amazing too if you have room for them!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Can't miss The Grit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We came through town on June 8th and had an enjoyable brunch here. We had the breakfast burrito, which has delicious beans, salsa and cheese and either eggs or tofu. It's really huge, so much so that I probably shouldn't have ordered the platter version of it, which comes with grits or potatoes and biscuits.

If the waiter had come by a little sooner I would have ordered a side of gravy to go with the very yummy biscuit. Instead I ate it with apple butter, it's a shame they don't have a house variety instead of a prepackaged portion.

In any event, we left the eatery too stuffed to try dessert and was very glad to walk off brunch on the UGA campus!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grit also viewed

 

Been to The Grit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.