We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, service ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Palma's Italian Cafe

De Palma's Italian Cafe
401 E Broad St, Athens, GA 30601-2820
(706) 354-6966
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 330 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very good food, service ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a nice, decent meal here, mostly ordering the specials, one of us getting Gluten Free fare, but the one who ordered the gnocchi did not get his correct dish when all of ours arrived, and we had all finished our dinners by the time they brought his gnocci. They offered free dessert to make up for it, which he graciously accepted. Should have compd the dish. But at least they gave a free dessert. Desserts were very good too. I'd say, overall, it was very good, I'd go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    69
    22
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, GA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“WOW Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We went for dinner. The inside is nothing to brag about. The service was average. However the waiter recommended a special of the day. It was a lasagna with blackened chicken a white sauce sitting in marinara. When I heard I wasn't certain but once I tasted it I couldn't stop eating it. I would go back for that alone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatonton, Georgia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“de Palma's on Timothy Road”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

de Palma's has three locations in Athens, each with its own flavor and flair. Downtown on Broad Street is the flagship location with the best menu and nicest atmosphere. A true, white table cloth dining establishment. Highly recommended. We dined last evening at the newest location on the west side of Athens off Timothy Road. This location is more suited to families and young people. Outdoor tables for dining or drinking are available. I had lunch here with friends a year ago and it was excellent. Dinner last evening was not as pleasurable an experience. Our server, Beth, was very pleasant and quick to gel us the wine and net specials. A great value on the Chalone Chardonay. My wife had the trout special at $16 and was very pleased. I on the other hand had there pasta with sweet sausage. It was very dry and required additional sauce to even make it palatable. The portion was HUGE. I am not a "to go box" person but I quickly saw there was more left in the bowl than I had eaten. Thus, home for lunch tomorrow. Try them for lunch first. I was pleased with that. We will give them another chance on dinner as their locatin is great relative to shopping on the Wes end of town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome food and fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This place has the best food ever. I really enjoyed the warm atmosphere too. The bread sticks are the best I have ever eaten!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worst pizza margherita ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I didn't think I would ever write a bad review of De Palmas. I usually get the bread sticks with spinach and a salad and I give that dish a 5 star rating. It is consistently good as are some pasta dishes I have had.
However, the kids were in town and we wanted pizza. The pizza margherita was thrown away after we all tried to eat it. It was a very tough, chewy dough with, apparently, some unflavored canned tomatoes put on top. That was about it except for some ungenerous mozzarella portions sparsely placed and some not very flavorful basil. This is one of their specialty pizzas but it was not special at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Palma's Italian Cafe also viewed

 

Been to De Palma's Italian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Palma's Italian Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.