We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Palma's Italian Cafe

De Palma's Italian Cafe
401 E Broad St, Athens, GA 30601-2820
(706) 354-6966
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 330 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Macon, Georgia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a great experience last night at dinner. A group of six with fast service, great food, and great drinks. This place is very, very consistent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    69
    22
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Our perennial favorite in Athens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The food at DePalma's has been excellent for more than 20 years, and it keeps getting better. From the "don't miss" breadsticks to what I consider the world's best pizza (or at least the U.S.'s - margarita plus sausage), DePalma's never disappoints us. Lately we've strayed from their extensive wine list to try cocktails, and have found the mojito and the Prairie (vodka) martini to be excellent. Our hat's off to Dave, Homer, and the staff for consistent excellence!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, Georgia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

A small intown restaurant with good service and food. The eggplant parmesean is a favorite of my wife's. Quaint atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Best meal I've had in Athens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We went there after the game and I was pleasantly surprised that it was such a relaxed atmosphere. The server was very attentive and helpful. The salads we ordered were fresh and tasty. I didn't have the pasta but I was told it was cry good. Both he and his son ate all of it so they must have liked it. I would go there again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice dinner for two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Enjoyed the atmosphere and food at the Timothy Street location of De Palma's. Service was attentive and polite. I had the horseradish encrusted salmon which was very good. My wife had the basil lasaunga which she really enjoyed. We had enough left over for lunch the next day.

The bread sticks are more like a pizza roll but are very good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Palma's Italian Cafe also viewed

 

Been to De Palma's Italian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Palma's Italian Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.