We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not great.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Last Resort Grill

Last Resort Grill
184 W Clayton St, Athens, GA 30601-2710
706-549-0810
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 330 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good, not great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is one of the places that everyone raved about when I first got to Athens and I have eaten here three times now. I have to admit that I like this place, especially with respect to many other Athens eateries. The prices are reasonable, the food is good, and the atmosphere is nice. However, this place definitely doesn't go on my list of fine restaurants serving spectacular dishes. In my opinion, most of the dishes are kind of generic and could just as easily be prepared at home. It's only because everyone in Athens seems to think that this is some kind of foodie paradise that I am rating it a 4, because if you go in expecting something unique and outstanding you will be left disappointed - at least in my opinion. And, as a general rule, this is my opinion of almost all restaurants in Athens - they don't live up to the hype that this town builds.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    126
    42
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

My girlfriends and I eat at Last Resort Grill every month or so and we absolutely love the food. It is a fun place for lunch and dinner.
The food selection is different than most restaurants. Enjoy!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our favorite place in Athens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We love this place! The food has never been a disappointment - always really good and reasonably priced. The atmosphere is great too. I would always recommend a meal here.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Best Restaurant in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The Last Resort Bar and Grill located in downtown Athens on Clayton Street offers a full service bar, excellent wine list, and outstanding cuisine. My family loves to go there every time we get a chance to be in town. The Last Resort is the most popular restaurant in Athens! Reservations are not available, so you need to get there early or be prepared to wait. They recentely updated the menu but still kept their signature dishes.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultrie, GA
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good standby by meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We normally eat at the Last Resort during our trips to Athens. The LR does not take reservations but you can call ahead and let them know what time you will be there and they will write your name on a list - maybe a semi-reservation. Upon arrival, we were told the wait would be 75 minutes but it was only about 40 minutes so not too bad. We expect a wait each time.

Once seated the waitress was attentive and our wait for the food was not too long and between courses was appropriate.

Each of us had a salad and an entree; overall food was good.They have a decent wine menu - much of it at reasonable prices.

The atmosphere is nice. The LR is not a place to go for a quiet dinner as tables are close together and the noise level can can be high.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Last Resort Grill also viewed

 

Been to Last Resort Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Last Resort Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.