We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Branded Butcher

Branded Butcher
225 North Lumpkin Street, Athens, GA
706-850-5152
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 331 restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Athens, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Ate at the Butcher for a work party and the apps were exceptional. Had the duck and it was amazing. Probably the best duck I've ever had. Everyone at my table was more than pleased with their meals. Service was excellent. Drinks were expensive but strong. My kind of place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    31
    3
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Inventive, interesting food, great people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We dined at the bar and took a variety of dishes "tapas style". The food was delicious, very well presented, sourced locally and offered an delightful change from standard restaurant menus. I won't list what we ate, as the Chef told us that seasonal changes were being made to the menu. They are to be congratulated for keeping the menu interesting. The cocktails served at the bar are equally prepared with invention and pride. The staff were knowledgeable, very friendly, great fun and rightly proud of their establishment. We enjoyed ourselves so much we returned the following night to celebrate New Year with them.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience and wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable about each dish on the menu (We asked numerous questions). For appetizers we ended up with the scotch egg and the pork belly, both were delicious. The scotch egg was my favorite part of the meal. For entrees we had the double cut pork chop and the filet. The pork chop was a little dry, but the flavor was perfect. No need for a knife with the filet, it melts in your mouth.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for special occasions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

A great place to try unique foods and awaken your taste buds. Dinner can be a little expensive but I like to get an appetizer or desert at the bar with one of their very tasty cocktails.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Across the board this was a great spot. Atmosphere, cleanliness, service, beverage selection and of course food. Get the scotch eggs, you will not be sorry! Innovation without being too crazy. And don't let the butcher image overwhelm you, they are also doing great things with celery root and butternut squash. Tasty desserts too. Just what we were looking for in a town that seems to have more than it's share of so-so bar food, perfect for the non-student visitor.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Branded Butcher also viewed

 

Been to Branded Butcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Branded Butcher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.