We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peking Restaurant

Peking Restaurant
272 S. Atlanta HW, Athens, GA
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 338 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed my dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went here for dinner. We ordered the veggie tofu dinner and one of the shrimp dinners.
The shrimp dinner was really good. The shrimp was fried and then the sauce was poured over the shrimp which was the perfect amount of flavor for the ones on top but the bottom ones were soggy and not as good. Could the sauce come out "on the side"? I think that I will order that way next time.
The veggie tofu dish was the absolute best tofu I have ever tasted. The tofu was actually crispy which I have never had the pleasure of before. This dish is on the must try if a vegetarian.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“dismal health inspection score”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

from today's Athen's Patch:

Peking

1935 Barnett Shoals Rd. Athens GA, 30605

Date: July 10, 2014

Score: 63

Too bad. I remember when this was the only non-fast food restaurant in town, started by students in the 1970's, I think it was.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic Chinese food and plenty of it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Four of us came here to eat dinner. The portion size is huge so take that into consideration when ordering. Crispy General Tsu's chicken was fantastic, and we got 2 other plates of food, so 3 for the 4 of us and it was plenty. They even have good prices on meals that serve 2- 10 people. Very good service and excellent food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia, Georgia
Level Contributor
268 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Nice Asian buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Husband and I ate here on a recent trip to Athens. Friends had recommended it as the best one in town. We arrived around 2 in the afternoon and the buffet items were still being freshly supplied, hot and tasty. As buffets go, it was pretty good with soups, salads and plenty of varying entrees available. We would definitely go again when in town

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Delivered EXCELLENT dinner to m hotel. VERY generous portions of Shrimp fried rice and Five Special Ingredients Shrimp. Hot & Sour soup was best I've had in a LONG time!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peking Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Peking Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peking Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.