We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too cool for school” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cine BarCafe

Cine BarCafe
234 West Hancock Avenue, Athens, GA
(706) 353-7377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 Fun & Games in Athens
Attraction details
Edisto Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Too cool for school”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I like the idea of CIne, which is to say that Athens absolutely needs an art house that shows independent and foreign films. Cine presumably is such a place but, in my experience, it falls short. The main problem is that the films shown at CIne are often also films that the three megaplex theaters in town also show. So why spend an additonal dollar or two to see the same film at Cine that you can see at Beechwood? My main gripe with Cine is that the ticket booth is often empty, which means that patrons walk into the theater and proceed to the the popcorn stand/bar and stand in line behind the many who want to buy a margarita with salt and, of course, some juju candies to complement the tequila. Left waiting are the simpleton patrons such as me who want only a lousy ticket so that I might go into the theater and watch the film. Adding to the problem is the fact that the kids who mix the margaritas and dole out the tickets are too cool for people such as myself. Not buying a drink, or not dressed in the hipster style that the Cine seems to like, is to be greeted with a smirk by the kid behind the booth. The place is just too cool for me, even given the fact that I love movies, love talking about movies, and have even written a paper or two about films. But Cine is just a place that makes me cringe walking into it.
I want Snow Tires back.
Jim

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    3
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Not many of these places around. The movie I saw was indie but very accessible. Great beer selection! Wish I were closer to this place: I'd go regularly!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great local cinema...an Athens gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

They play awesome, interesting and unique movies. You get to drink beer/wine/cocktails while you watch. Staff is always friendly and it's never too crowded. Great place for a date night (especially if you eat next door at The National). How much better can it get?

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkinsville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place to see a movie for miles around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We love Cine! Great movies that the commercial theatres don't show; clean, interesting interior. Popcorn is cheap, they have homemade cookies, too, and you can get traditional movie candy, great beers and mixed drinks. A really great deal is Sunday through Tuesday you can eat dinner next door at The National and get a free movie ticket to Cine. (The National is one of the best restaurants in Athens.)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cool place, but expensive ticket prices!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Love the concept of this place--a restaurant and bar (you can order drinks to enjoy during the movie) connected to a modern movie theater, but thought the ticket prices were awfully high--$19.50 for two tickets to an evening movie. Will try the $1 cinema on the west side of town next time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cine BarCafe also viewed

 

Been to Cine BarCafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cine BarCafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.