We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Herschel stomped on my heart but made my stomach happy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Herschel’s 34 Chicken & Ribs Kitchen - CLOSED

Herschel’s 34 Chicken & Ribs Kitchen
320 E. Clayton Street, Athens, GA 30601
706-353-0334
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Located in Athens, Georgia, Herschel’s 34 Chicken & Ribs Kitchen offers “A Fresh Approach to Southern Family Favorites” with an incredible line up of shareable starters, a great selection of craft beers, wines, and specialty cocktails, delivered by a friendly team who go the extra yard!
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Herschel stomped on my heart but made my stomach happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

As a lifelong Gator fan I have no love for Herschel Walker the player. He destroyed my football dreams far too many times! However, on a recent trip to Athens I found myself in a group that wanted to check out his restaurant and I am glad that I did. It started with an excellent and affordable beer selection and ended with creative and delicious food. I was expecting traditional BBQ fare but this exceeded my expectations. Service was attentive, food prices were reasonable, and servings were large. Add in the fact that it all tasted very, very good and I can forgive the decor (Bulldog in theme, but not excessively so). I can't forgive Herschel for his college football trespasses but at least he knows how to serve a good meal to a Gator!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    18
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tupelo MS
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The wings were good and meaty. The entrees were mediocre at best. My okra w cheese/chicken was hardly season and dry as a bone. Its gonna be hard for me to recommend this joint.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not bad but nothing special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My wife and I ate here for dinner last week. Used a 2 for 1 coupon and had the ribs. They were not bad but nothing special. The meat was good but they were a bit dry. The fried okra was odd - the breading was more like biscuit dough and didn't have any cornmeal in it - again, not bad, but not what I'm used to. Wait staff was nice and the place was clean. Not a bad experience, but nothing special for the prices charged.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sooo Disappointed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We ate there only because it was the only place we could find without a wait...and now we know why.
I ordered wings which were terrible! I'm sure they were day old or at the Very least been sitting out for a while. They were very dry and crunchy with little meat on them.
My husband ordered shrimp and grits. Again not good.
Service was very very slow, but in his defense he did apologize numerous times for it, even offering a free desert. Glad it was free would have been very upset had we paid for it.
My advice....wait wherever you go you'll. be glad you did not end up here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeannineLahey, Guest Relations Manager at Herschel’s 34 Chicken & Ribs Kitchen, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Our wings and grits are two of our best sellers and I'm sorry that they were not prepared to your liking. We hope you will visit us again soon. I am certain you will enjoy your meal and our team members will take very good care of you.

Jeannine Lahey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average sports bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Herschel’s Kitchen is a sports bar located in the middle of the old downtown Athens. When you visit, expect to see big screen TVs throughout the restaurant. The menu contains the usual sports bar selections, such as burgers/ fries and various salads. Everything about this place is just average. Service is good, food is average and the prices are acceptable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herschel’s 34 Chicken & Ribs Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herschel’s 34 Chicken & Ribs Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.