We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot in Athens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herschel’s 34 Chicken & Ribs Kitchen

Herschel’s 34 Chicken & Ribs Kitchen
320 E. Clayton Street, Athens, GA 30601
706-353-0334
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #144 of 343 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: $8 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Located in Athens, Georgia, Herschel’s 34 Chicken & Ribs Kitchen offers “A Fresh Approach to Southern Family Favorites” with an incredible line up of shareable starters, a great selection of craft beers, wines, and specialty cocktails, delivered by a friendly team who go the extra yard!
Duluth, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Spot in Athens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is one of my favorite places to eat in Athens. Great menu. On my last visit I had the Turkey Club and thought it was great. Large beer selection. Service and atmosphere were good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    18
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food, but nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The prices were about what you'd expect to pay at a similar chain type restaurant. The menu was about what you'd expect at a similar chain type restaurant. The food at Herschel's Famous was good, but not for a college town that has such a wide variety of eclectic and excellent food choices. OTOH, we are talking about a restaurant with Herschel Walker's name in Athens, GA, so you can't hate on it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Met my son in Athens for dinner, tried out Herschel's place. Food was mediocre, service ok. could have been my choice (fish and chips).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“terrible place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The staff doesn't care about the customers. We were placed in Hershel's Living Room, a crappy place on the second floor. They would not reseat us and we're rude to us in response to our question. Don't bother going here, way too many other great places to eat in Athens. Hershel is famous, his place is certainly not.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Missing Some Menu Items, But enjoyed our Experience Otherwise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My hubby and I came here at about 3 pm on a Sunday afternoon - a beautiful fall day with some enjoyable people-watching on the sidewalks of downtown Athens.
Unfortunately, they were missing a few menu items and we didn't find out until we tried to order said items.
We did enjoy the meals we ended up with. My hubby ordered the rib eye entree, with a side of Old Bay seasoned fries. He was pleased with the entire plate (see photo). I ordered the "Oh You Hershel Walker" Grilled Cheese Sandwich. All sandwiches are served with a side of pub chips that come with a mayo dipping sauce. I added fried dill pickle spears to my meal (see photos) and it was all delicious! I ate the side salad that came with my husbands order and I wouldn't recommend bothering with it as it is just a ho-hum salad.
The service was friendly and attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herschel’s 34 Chicken & Ribs Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Herschel’s 34 Chicken & Ribs Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herschel’s 34 Chicken & Ribs Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.