We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolce Vita

La Dolce Vita
323 East Broad Street (2nd Floor), Athens, GA
706-353-3911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 331 restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Athens, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“So good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We LOVE La Dolce Vita. This past Saturday we went and experienced the new chef. The meat and cheese plate is the perfect starter for any meal. There were 3 of us at our table and all of the entrees were outstanding. The best was the special- Taste of the Forest or something like that. It's a creation by the new chef and I must say it was outstanding. Only one of us ordered it, but the other two wished we had. Impeccable food as always. The only knock against this restaurant is that they are closed for lunch. They used to be one of my favorite places to eat lunch and I am still bitter that they took it away and focused on their sister restaurant Etienne, which I find to be lackluster at best.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    41
    14
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
outside Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Almost awesome food, great and attentive service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We went this weekend with our daughter after reading about this restaurant on Trip Advisor.

It's a lovely dining room tucked away upstairs on the main street in Athens. As UGA is not in full swing yet we had a table with no issues (though I am sure during school it's super busy).

Our server was Sarah and she was very nice. We ordered an appetizer, bruschetta, and as another reviewer commented, it was scorched and burned. I had the papardelle with pesto (as I didn't want the heavier lamb sauce), my daughter had papardelle alfredo, and my husband had Strozzapretti alla Buttera which is a pasta with italian sausage and mushrooms.

I found all the food to be underseasoned - needed salt badly (and we don't generally salt our food) but there was not a salt shaker to be found. The papardelle was a little thick and the alfredo sauce on my daughter's was very heavy and not completely silky.

We did find out this was the new chef's first week, so we'll give them one more try - but this dinner was nearly $100 and if it's not dialed in next time, we won't be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
30628
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Food is just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We really want to love the food, because the location, atmosphere and service are fantastic! But the food is just ok. We've dined here 4 times in the past year. The bread on the bruschetta was burned tasting. The pasta is not homemade. The lamb sauce could have been pork as it was in such a strong red wine sauce it was over powered. The sausage ragout was not flavorful. Gelato was good but over priced at $7. Cannoli tasted like sunscreen. Appetizer, glass wine, two beers, two entrees and two desserts was $96 with tip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant in Athens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Always love the food here. Reminds us of our trips to Italy. The carpaccio is the best I have ever eaten and all the pasta dishes we have tried have been delicious. The staff and management are
friendly and efficient.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Was not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I visited La Dolce Vita on a date night a couple of months ago. We were not impressed by the food at all. My wife's chicken was average. My ravioli was chewy and I could not finish the entree. I think there are many better restaurants in Athens for the price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

 

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.