We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groovy downtown stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Graduate Athens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Graduate Athens to your Saves list
Graduate Athens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   295 East Dougherty Street, Athens, GA 30601 (Formerly Foundry Park Inn and Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Midweek From $109
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Athens
Harvey York Co
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Groovy downtown stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Location is just a few blocks from downtown, staff very friendly, room large and nicely decorated with retro-theme. Minor complaints: paint peeling off bathroom ceiling, some garbage under tv stand, noisy room due to street traffic. Fridge and Kuerig coffee maker were pluses, would have been nice if pastries or something were made available for breakfast. Overall, very good stay.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    26
    8
    9
    3
See reviews for
43
27
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We were in town for a UGA college tour and this was recommended by a former graduate. Although not in the heart of downtown Athens (but extremely close), a coffee shop, breakfast, lunch, dinner, wifi, and live show were all available. Uber was very fast and inexpensive ($6) if you don't want to walk or drive to restaurants or bars at night. The rooms were fun (retro) and staff was great. The environment very charming and collegiate.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Best decor, location, amenities and the beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept in at a hotel. The grounds are beautiful and the decor/ feel was so much fun. I can't wait to go back! If you stay, be sure to get an iced latte, too. Delicious!


  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Four retired friends found the neatest accommodations ever in a town I have visited all of my life! Two of us were graduates, literally, one had some classes there and one transplant from Alabama, who was educated in Mississippi, needed to stomp down memory lane and make new sites as well. This made the perfect little bedroom for us. From the creative decorating scheme to the ID key cards and I can't forget the best staff in the registration process, these "old" ladies who wished they were still coeds were impressed. Never mind that wishing part, it was finals weeks and it looks like this hotel gives back to the community with their spacious coffee shop where students were "buckled down" quietly studying. I, for one, was glad not to be studying, but instead enjoying, Big City Bread Co., The Last Resort, Georgia Theatre, insomnia cookies, etc. Yes, we probably had too many treats! We can't forget Lexington Vintage and Junk in the Trunk, two wonderful places to look at things. Put this place on your bucket list!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville, sc
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Can't comment on the property per se because I never was able to reach a knowledgeable reservationist.

Started when the establishment solicited me with an e-mail for a special summer rate if I reserved by a certain date. I called after work one evening and the reservationist had no information regarding the special and advised I call the hotel. and subsequently was trapped in an endless auto attendant loop with no opportunity to leave a voice mail. So I called the reservation number again. Same deal, told to call the property. I did again. Same endless loop. Hoping third time was the charm, I called the main reservation number yet again. This time although the reservationist was also unable to find the special, they did inform me that since it was after 5, the office at the property was closed and that it would be best to try the next day...

So I did. Actually reached a live person at the property who quoted me a rate. as it was the same rate as online, I asked about the special. She said she didn't know but would transfer me to the person in charge of reservations. Of course, voice mail answered. so I left my name and number with a request for a return call. Never heard back and now the deadline for the special has passed. Does not bode well for a lodging establishment if simply checking rates and availability makes one feel like they need a vacation. Shoddy and unprofessional.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here for one night, and I have to say the decor of the lobby area and the room was probably the cutest of any hotel I've ever stayed. Everything from the bed to the wallpaper in the bathroom. Super comfy and cute and the staff was really friendly. I'd recommend this to anyone staying in Athens.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Graduate Athens was chosen for wedding we were attending, it was close to our functions and other buildings that family members had fond memories of.
We were able to eat at The Grill, my son-in-law enjoyed when he attended UGA, my husbands brother worked at UGA.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Graduate Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graduate Athens

Address: 295 East Dougherty Street, Athens, GA 30601 (Formerly Foundry Park Inn and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Graduate Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Graduate Athens - where your intellectual curiosity meets your favorite place to stay. We are located a short walk from the UGA campus and downtown Athens. Whether you're dropping in for a show at the Foundry, our multi-tiered music venue, or in town showing off the Alma Mater, our warm, friendly whip smart staff will be your compass guide - so you can feel like a local, even if it's your first time in town. Get ready for a night like you've never had before. Get ready to be inspired. Here at Graduate Athens, we believe life is a timeless journey filled with memory making stops, extraordinary rites of passage and all of the courageous leaps of faith that get us where we're going. Just beyond the historic brick facade lies our very own Southern village. While Graduate tips a hand to its historic roots, it has fully embraced the southern Renaissance in all of its artistic edge and glory. Everything you need is right here-whether you're in town to wind up or unwind. Our rooms are ready for a night like you've never had before, where little moments of surprise and discovery will meet you down every corridor and around each corner including Malin & Goetz amenities and complimentary Wi-Fi. The hotel lobby is caffeinated with just the right blend of grab and go goodness. Think home baked eats and a selection of the best brews. We've got just the right shot of espresso to pair with your morning news at Iron Works Coffee. The Foundry, our historic music venue served as the original iron foundry, and was reimagined to honor the site's roots and preserve this piece of Athens' fine past. The multi-tiered structure and soaring beams welcome crystal clear views, stellar acoustics and a place to celebrate the detail and dedication to craft. The Foundry Bar & Grill stocks every local beer imaginable and offers fun fresh fare whether you are catching a new artist or you're just looking for a place in town to hang out and make some history of your own. At Graduate we are all about the R&R and making your acquaintance. Melt away your stress, unplug from the world and indulge in a few hours of off the grid me time. Let us know which spa service serves you best, and we can make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Graduate Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foundry Park Hotel Athens
Foundry Park Inn
Park Inn Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graduate Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.