We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak with jazz music too!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porterhouse Grill

Porterhouse Grill
459 E Broad St, Athens, GA 30601
+1 706-369-0990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 361 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $36
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Americus, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great steak with jazz music too!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Upon entering and seating at the bar, the bartender recommended the New York strip.

It was wonderful and served with vegetables and smashed red potatoes.

There was a couple of guys playing jazz music and even took requests.

Great place to eat in Athens!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    27
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love the Brunch Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Steak, eggs, pasta, great Bloody Marys, and white table service for Sunday Brunch???? YES PLEASE!

Mimosas are great as well.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good but expensive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Food was good-for what we spent, I did expect more. Serving sizes are small. Good steak and nice atmosphere.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal at Porterhouse Grill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Some friends and I made an impromptu trip to Athens, and it turned out to be the Twilight Bike Race night. Downtown Athens was packed. When we got hungry, we looked at menus for several restaurants and opted for Porterhouse Grill.

It was nearly 9:00 PM, and the restaurant was not crowded. We were seated immediately. Truthfully, the place is pricey for a college town, and I was prepared to be disappointed by mediocre college town food. However, such was NOT the case. We ordered cocktails, which were well crafted and brought freshly baked bread. The crab soup and wedge salad were delicious, and the entrees were even better. The reduction sauce on the filet medallions was one of the best I have had and added a nice touch to the tender and perfectly -cooked filets. Others ordered the Porterhouse and the shrimp pasta, which they said were excellent. Portions were generous, and the steaks came with garlic mashed potatoes and vegetables, which were also excellent. Service was not on the level of, say, the Palm, but neither was it bad. Our waiter remained attentive throughout the meal, even though we were among the last patrons of the day. Great food by any town's standards and a real treat!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis Center, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"Great food...Great service"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had dinner there on a busy Friday night. Our server Dickson was fantastic. Not being from the area he explained everything and had some great recommendations. Our Shrimp appetizer with fried grits was delicious. The filet mignon with redskin mashed potatoes, vegetables and the BBQ Sesame Salmon w/pineapple salsa w/rice pilaf and vegetables were mouthwatering. Great wine recommendation. The food is well worth the price. For great service just ask for Dickson. Tell him a Buckeye recommended him!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porterhouse Grill also viewed

 

Been to Porterhouse Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porterhouse Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.