We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, always well prepared” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Room

Savannah Room
1197 S. Lumpkin Street, Athens, GA 30602
706-542-6341
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 343 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: One of Athens' finest restaurants. The Savannah Room offers seafood, steaks, vegetarian options, Southern specialties and superb desserts. A full bar is available. The Savannah Room is located inside the UGA Hotel.
30628
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food, always well prepared”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Not gourmet, but you can count on a good meal, well prepared, for a realistic price. My friends rave about the frozen strawberry pie. I think it's "ok".

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice, Quiet and Inexpensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Being hearing impaired a quiet environment is critical, plus adopted daughter is Bolivian and a grad student at UGA so I must focus on her words, so this was a good selection for lunch.
Service was very good (Laura), food on the other hand was marginal. Pan-fry trout was very much overcooked and vegetables were ordinary; Turkey Reuben was too squishy although the taste wasn't bad; Cheese Burger was OK and fries were OK. Two Creme Brulees were not quite what we expected, but tasty; Strawberry cream pie was good. Drinks were OK.
Pricing for the above was by most standards modest.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best value in Athens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

Delicious food at very reasonable prices. Everything i've ordered has been great and i always look forward to going to the Savannah Room. Upscale dining at reasonalbe prices--I love it! Parking can be tricky because it's on campus--try the parking garage behind the Georgia Center.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice any day or for special occasions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

A quality place with chef-prepared entrees but not at all expensive. In the heart of the GA University campus, two minutes from downtown Athens, next to a parking ramp with validated parking. We've always had extraordinary meals, each with that special something. The servers are friendly, experienced and attentive. Lunches are very reasonable and dinners seem to be in the medium range.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dinner with exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Ate here my first night. Exceptional service. Fresh greens in the salad, love the vinegrette. The she crab soup really hit the spot. Second night, conducted a potential employee interview. Service was just as great. Server remembered me from the night before. Extra points for that.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savannah Room also viewed

 

Been to Savannah Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savannah Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.