We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heirloom Cafe

Heirloom Cafe
815 N Chase Street, Athens, GA
706-354-7901
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 331 restaurants in Athens
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I love going here for brunch on Sundays. Great atmosphere and food. The wait staff is always friendly and the food of high quality. Their biscuits are my favorite!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    28
    20
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“It is worth a try.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for breakfast on a Sunday morning and the place was packed. The cafe uses local farms and promotes this on thier menu. They have unique offerings on their breakfast menu from a chicken salad sandwich to pistachio nut pancakes. I had the pancakes and they looked like dark chocolate circles, but they were delicious.
The service was slow as it took over 45 minutes to receive our meals. While we were waiting they offer you a complementary bread and muffin basket (tastey). The walls are decorated with pictures sent in by locals and visitors I suspect of favorite things around Athens.

It is worth the visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the two best meals in my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Pocket Paradise - this restaurant uses only locally grown produce, and to great advantage. The beet soup was to die for, and the light summer beverage one of the best I've ever had. Please find time to visit this restaurant when you're in town.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Our favorite meal in Athens!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was by far, our favorite meal in Athens. Wish we had switched from our original plan at Five & Ten (which was a HUGE disappointment) to attend Heirloom's wine tasting/dinner. For lunch, a simple chilled cucumber soup was just right and paired well with a Vinho Verde; salad was delightfully simple, light & very fresh. Loved the laid back atmosphere here. We were lucky enough to dine at the bar next to the owner and struck up a lovely conversation. He's a true foodie, which reflects in all this restaurant represents. LOVED it. As a culinary instructor, I HIGHLY recommend this!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Ate dinner here tonight. Five of us and everyone enjoyed their meals. Most of us had the special soup of cucumber and melo.....it was good and really nice. Entrees included suchotash, two burgers, one veggie burger and a catfish salad. All were very good. Desserts were interesting and good: fig ice cream sandwiches, chocolate cake, caramel cake and chocolate musse. All and all, a very nice evening. Servicer was quite good and attentive.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heirloom Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Heirloom Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heirloom Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.