We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, specially prepared for us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Etienne Brasserie

Etienne Brasserie
311 E Broad St, Athens, GA 30601
(706) 850-8008
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 343 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ft. Collins
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, specially prepared for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were visiting our son in Athens, GA where he is a wine steward at a local store, He met an employee of Etienne's a few months back and told him about eating fine European food in a restaurant we frequented when he lived in Colorado. He mentioned several special dishes that he had not had since then. This gentleman told him they could make all of those dishes at Etienne's by just calling ahead, He arranged for a very special menu for us. When we arrived in Athens our son called the restaurant to confirm, and was told his contact no longer worked there. We were a little concerned, but proceeded. They did the most amazing job!!!!! The owner, manager and our fabulous waitress Kate all came out to greet us, and reassure us that everything was ready. We had seared foie gras, shrimp cocktail, Steak Diane and tournedos with foie gras. Everything was delectable. It was beautifully prepared and delicious. We were so impressed with the personal service, and the warm and inviting atmosphere, This restaurant is a real treasure!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    27
    12
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I had the mussels in sauce and the escargot as well as the burger. All good. The burger is quite fancy and delicious and if you get the fries they come with several dipping sauces that are a nice change from the usual ketchup. The fish dish I got once was only ok but the rest so far has been good. A bit on the $$$ side but good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

the restaurant has recently underwent a change for the good. the food and service is much improved. the restaurant was full before a Boston Pops concert yet we were served politely and in timely manner

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing cuisine, atmosphere and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Sat outside on a beautiful patio. They had some amazing cocktail choices, but went with wine through the courses. Good wine selection with a very knowledgeable staff. Started with the escargot in an amazing butter garlic sauce with crustinis and some mixed greens. After the escargot was gone we indulged by asking for our bread early to finish off the sauce. For mains we got the coq au vin and the filet. Both cooked beautifully with amazing potatoes and vegetables. Perfect dish sizes left enough room for desert. The chocolate ganache came with an amazing citrus sauce and the creme brule was done perfectly with not too much sugar. Even with the spectacular food, the icing n the cake was the service. Our server was amazing, helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the foods and wines. This place ranks as one of the best places I have been. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“New incarnation is better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

For awhile they got ahead themselves here, marking up food and wine beyond what the market would bear for good (but not great) quality. Just had dinner for the first time since the menu was recalibrated to bistro rather than fancy pants, and loved it. Lovely duck confit and trout meunière (for $22 and $20, respectively) with sides that used local greens and potatoes = hard to beat. A fine Manhattan with flamed orange peel and a nice Southern Rhonebvarietal at $9/glass. We will be back. This place is back in our rotation and were glad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etienne Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Etienne Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Etienne Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.