We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French cafe life” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Etienne Brasserie

Etienne Brasserie
311 E Broad St, Athens, GA 30601
(706) 850-8008
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 331 restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“French cafe life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and the dog and I spent a few hours at an outside table last Saturday, enjoying a wonderfall fall day and some excellent food/drinks. It was our fifth or sixth visit, and the kitchen and wait staff continues to perform well above average, both in service and food quality. After being disappointed by the unavailability of the saucisson sandwich and tuna options, my wife and I were very pleased with our selections of grilled opa on her salad and a lamb hamburger for me. (The dog was happy with her bowl of water, which was promptly brought out without having to request it.) The frites (it is a French brasserie) were perfectly done: extra crispy outside and fluffy potato inside.
They also have a great cocktail menu, along with several unusual bottled beer selections and a nice wine list. This trip we did not purchase a bottle of wine, but in the past we have had several, and the bartender helped us make very good selections. I think I remember that they specialize in a particular Lebanese vineyard's wines, in addition to Napa and French varietals.
FYI: they have a great lunch menu, but on Sundays at lunch you can only order from the brunch menu. It's fine, too, but it limits your selection of some of the sandwiches and salads and adds the usual brunch suspects.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    28
    24
    12
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“nothing left”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We went on a weekday. The restaurant did not have more than 16 people. Greetings were friendly and we had a glass of white wine each. Then we tried to order from the menu. Well, they were out of the escargots, the tuna tartare, the veall hanger steak. So we were pretty well forced into taking a second choice. At least service was pleasant and they threw in one glass of wine extra after I suggested they give us a discount.

I felt it was pretty expensive for a restaurant that could not provide a full menu.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Just as good on our second visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We dined here about six months ago and returned on this visit through town. This time our server was a guy who was extremely knowledgable on wines and interesting to listen to as he described several of the wines to us. The wine list is all French but they had some special wines from California and I believe Australia. We had an excellent bottle of California Chardonay, and after dessert our server was able to recommend a French wine served by the glass that was close to the Chardonay that we had. The food was delicious, especially the poached pear dessert. We sat at a window table and enjoyed watching the students and other characters pass by. We love this place and plan to return every time we pass through town. If you like fine food in an upscale environment this is the place to go in Athens.

RGinTally

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Dinner Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

One of the nicer spots near campus. We really enjoyed the European atmosphere. The wine list was substantial, the staff were knowledgeable and fun and the food was divine. Shout out to Kate...you rock girl!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just what I wanted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

After spending a long day touring the UGA campus my son said let's go for a good dinner so you can have a nice glass of wine. This place was perfect - nice wine list. Sat in the window and relaxed. We both had the french onion soup - sweet onions with a delicious mix of broth and cheese. Next I had the salmon wrapped in Phyllo dough which also came with a salad - I couldn't finish it all. It was very good. My son had the veal with bernaise sauce. He was very happy with his order. We will be back to UGA and back to Etienne.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etienne Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Etienne Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Etienne Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.