We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amici's Italian Cafe

Amici's Italian Cafe
233 E Clayton St, Athens, GA 30601
(706) 353-0000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #132 of 338 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pasta
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Commerce, Georgia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stoped by after the or during the game and had a pretty good pizza mellow mushroom was packed out, service was excellent

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Excellent calzone and pizza. Great place to have a local brew, watch a game or just enjoy good italian food.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Smells Like A Toilit! Oh, What A Stench!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Love the food, hate the stench! Hubby and I have eaten at Amici's 3 times in the past year. The food is good, the service is adequate - but the smell will knock you to your knees! It keeps getting worse each visit it seems. Last visit was with my brother and his girlfriend visiting from Vegas. They wanted to see Athens, they wanted cold beer and Italian food. We ended up at Amici's (while I kept my fingers crossed that perhaps this visit would not make my eyes water like I was in the mens room at the local truck stop). No such luck, stinky again said Peppy La-PEW! My brother's new girlfriend (who was gagging) suggested we eat outside. Thank goodness it was rather warm and not too cold or windy on this sunny winter day. We did enjoy ourselves - since we were outside. Good food but "barely warm" pitchures of beer. I do love their salads! Yummy bruchetta and tasty marinara sauce! They do have rather small servings though, rather small! This place is worth a visit but they absolutely need to do something about the plumbing. The waitress did apologise for the odor and advised us that you get used to it after awhile. Huh? Well, it may be awhile before we return...I don't want to get used to smelling pee! I think I will call to check if the stench is gone before my next visit or I will plan to sit in their outside dining area! Yea, thats the solution. This restaurant is so stinky inside that all you have to do is just sit outside! No big deal! Hope it doesn't rain!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I never knew how good Amici's was”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Went there with a few friends who were bragging about Amici's, I never really had experience with this place. But the Calzone was amazing! Its reasonable and the atmosphere is good. BUT the wait was almost 2 hours!!!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Typical italian place, nothing incredible but nothing really wrong with it either.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amici's Italian Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Amici's Italian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amici's Italian Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.