We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese you'll put in your mouth in the south.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sun Chinese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden Sun Chinese Restaurant
4375 Lexington Rd, Suite B1, Athens, GA 30605-2525
706-549-3388
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 342 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Chinese you'll put in your mouth in the south.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Visited Golden Sun for the second time tonight. We tried different dishes, and the food was just as wonderful. Yes, it's in the walmart parking lot, but that will melt away once you sit down. The hot and sour soup is jam packed and super hearty, but the couple next to us had the sizzling rice soup and it was quite the presentation - we're trying it next.
Keep in mind that the dinner entrees are double portions, so you can order one dish to split, and probably still have leftovers. OR, be like us and order 2 dishes and have plenty for the next day! The service is fast and friendly and efficient! Go here!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    2
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely fabulous! Great food, service, and very good people. Two meals for $21.00 and it was the best Chinese I have eaten in a very long time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Food, and Even Better Management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My mother-in-law recently turned 90 years old, and we had a big reception for her in the afternoon. Later we asked where she would like to go for dinner, and she replied that her favorite place was "Golden Sun", so that's where we went. The official party had occurred earlier that afternoon, so our group consisted of only six. Each of us ordered something different, and each of us loved our food. It was delicious. What really impressed us most was what happened in addition to the good food. We mentioned as we were seated that it was our mother's 90th birthday. A few minutes later the server brought over a vase of lovely flowers for our table. Then, after our meal was completed, and much to our surprise, they brought out a dozen cupcakes, decorated with as many lit candles, and sang "Happy Birthday". Our mother was so touched, and so were we. Yes, the food was great, but that is only one of the reasons we will return anytime we are in Athens.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food is excellent. Made to the way we like it. The duck is cooked very well. Hot and spicy chicken is our favourite.
We always takeout our food but the restaurant is clean and great place to eat, with a great environment.
Hope this helps people who love Chinese food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Wow! Great Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Hubby and I recently enjoyed the lunch special at The Golden Sun. As this good sized, well appointed restaurant is tucked away in a Walmart Plaza, I would not have given it a second glance, but fellow TA reviewers were so positive that we gave it a chance. The dining room was almost empty, so we got a booth immediately. Our server did not seem to have a good grasp of conversational English, but we just ordered from the menu and didn't need any questions answered. After we ordered everything came out quickly. As others have noted, the portions are generous, and the dishes are fairly spicy. (We like that!)

For the price, we were impressed. We don't visit the east side of Athens that often, but this spot is worth a repeat visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Sun Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Golden Sun Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sun Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.