We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great prices, great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taqueria del Sol

Taqueria del Sol
334 Prince Ave, Athens, GA 30601-2447
706-353-3890
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 343 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Dahlonega, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great prices, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I had eaten at the Atlanta location and loved it, so I was totally down with trying this one. We were not disappointed. Great food quality, kid (12-yr. old) friendly, good beer selections, close to downtown. We will return. ¡Ándale!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waycross, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of my favorites in Athens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

This is a great Mexican restaurant in Athens. It's not your typical Mexican restaurant. The menu is very small. It's basically tacos, burritos and enchaladas. They have other side items as well.

The food is always amazing. I've never had a bad meal there. There's almost always a line on weekends but it usually moves pretty quick.

You order individual items off the menu so it can get expensive. I usually get enchaladas and they are quite small compared to other places. The cost is my biggest complaint. I guess they can charge more because the food is so good.

If you haven't tried it before, do yourself a favor and go.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had to wait in line for about 15 minutes on a busy Friday night but it was worth it. The food was very fresh and we enjoyed the unusual -- but tasty -- taco combinations. Unlike most Mexican restaurants, however, chips and salsa do not come complimentary. Order them with your food and be sure to try the salsa sampler. Great outdoor seating, attentive wait staff, delicious food.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This is a fall-back staple for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

When we are on this side of town, the question is always Taqueria del Sol or the Grit. Reliable, tasty food, inexpensive and fast. Try the greens at some point (very much not a mexican thing but really tasty). These guys value fresh cooking. Their specials are always creative and tasty.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ga.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Soul Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

It's good, homey, relaxed, very comfortable and unassuming. Love the ground beef entrees. Like to see Classic City Consignment furniture afterwards down the street.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria del Sol also viewed

 

Been to Taqueria del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taqueria del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.