We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat here....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The National Restaurant

The National Restaurant
232 West Hancock Avenue, Athens, GA 30601
+1 706-549-3450
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 338 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Organic, Bar, Cafe, Mediterranean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Eat here....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Had dinner during a recent visit, food was amazing. Sat at the bar and the bartenders were great to chat with and they made some great recommendations for after dinner. Food was delicious.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    26
    18
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“small portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

supposedly a family friendly version and knock off from Hugh Acheson from the five and ten...I'll pass. Not impressed with portion size (TINY) and I just loved Farm 255 and Last Resort so MUCH better...I always nix this one and go to the others!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Wine; SMALL plates”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I visited The national the other night with a very good friend whom I hadn't seen in a couple of years. We ate in the bar, and it was a great place to sit and reconnect. The ambience is relaxed and comfortable, and the bar tenders were superb in finding some excellent wines. My manhattan was pretty tasty, although i prefer stirred rather than shaken. The food was delicious, but the servings were small for the price. My friend had to lift a piece of greens to uncover one of the two scallops on her plate. My lamb chop was all of two bites.The tab ended up around $80, and we felt that we had to fill up on bread to feel that we had had a meal. Perhaps the servings are larger in the main dining room, I hope. If I go back, I'll probably have the wine and go elsewhere for a meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A really fabulous place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We hosted a celebration dinner for 8 the evening before fall commencement. It was truly lovely. Very busy but the atmosphere was intimate and cozy. I didn't find it to be overly noisy even though I was facing the kitchen door. Food was excellent. We had the hangar steak med rare with hash. I wanted to lick the plate! Service was excellent, we did wait a while at the bar even though we had reservations but that's understandable on a busy night with several large groups in a small place. Bar staff was very friendly and relaxed and I really loved that the whole place is completely unpretentious. I did not survey the restroom so I can't comment on that - most Athens establishment s have terrible bathroom facilities in my opinion. I highly recommend The National.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich / Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best food in a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We travelled the south for a long time and in all fairness, food was not the highlight of that trip - until we came to Athens. The National was an extremely positive surprise. Excellent local food, well prepared and served in the friendliest possible manner.
A highlight was the home brewed tonic!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The National Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The National Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.