We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed for Good as of June 21, 2013” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Five Star Day Cafe - CLOSED

Five Star Day Cafe
229 East Broad Street, Athens, GA 30601
706-543-8552
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Closed for Good as of June 21, 2013”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Five Star Day the beloved Athens establishment closed its doors this week. It will be missed by many. How I long for their fried green tomatoes, mac n cheese, and meatloaf.

Hopefully, it will be replaced by something even more delicious!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Wow! Daily Special, you did me right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

First off, the people who work at Five Star Day Cafe were extremely pleasant and fun to chat with. One of the workers has drawn Alan Turing* on the board and my companion looked at it for a moment, then said "Is that Alan Turing?" The worker who drew the picture, a friendly red-haired girl with bright eyes, suddenly burst with energy and exclaimed "Yes!" and immediately high-fived my friend. They chat about Turing for a moment and both soaked in the random connection to another human being in a witty, honest way.

Next came the food. I went with the Mademoiselle, a burger on a french biscuit, with bacon, crisp brown sugared onions, and a raspberry BBQ sauce, along with a side of chicken and dumpling soup. The latter was tasty, certainly, but the Mademoiselle? A small part of me is still sitting there eating that beautifully crafted, well-balanced gem of a lunch. Honestly, one of the tastiest burgers I have ever had, possible ever, and I have sought out burgers from many places.

* He is the father of computer science & artificial intelligence.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Funky little spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We popped in here while downtown Athens as we were told it was one of the places you HAVE to eat while in Athens.

We sat out on the patio on the street and had a nice view of the arches at the university.

The staff was super friendly, funky and fun.

The menu was great - lots of good comfort food.

I had the pulled pork, fried green tomatoes, corn bread and slaw. It was all pretty tasty. My first time having fried green tomatoes - they were good. They had a nice citrusy, home made dressing on them.

Would eat here again if we were back - but there are just SO many good places to eat by the looks of things!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Classic Athens Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

You can't beat this place for the price and the freshness of the food.
Eclectic and the perfect college town place to eat.
No hassles, laid back....great location.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“yummy trout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This place is small so groups of 4 or less are best but I think it is worth a stop.
They make their own delish salad dressings and their trout fillet is what I always get.
So yummy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Star Day Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Star Day Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.