We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for English-only travelers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Humuya Inn

Save Saved
You added Humuya Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Humuya Inn
Colonia Humuya #1150, Tegucigalpa na, Honduras   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 25 hotels in Tegucigalpa
Alabama
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for English-only travelers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

This was our second time to stay at the Humuya, and I would fully recommend it. The service is very good, the owners and desk clerks speak both Spanish and English, and the food is tasty. The rooms are clean and spacious, air-conditioned, and nicely decorated. Includes a nice continental breakfast and wireless internet.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    17
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
21
16
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Our mission trip was extended several days due to airport closures as a result of the political situation in Honduras. The eight of us were very comfortable, very safe and very well cared for while we awaited our departure. The food was excellent, the internet access kept us in touch with family back home, and the owners and staff couldn't have been more accomodating to our needs.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

My main criticism of this property is location--far from town. Any savings in hotel rates was eaten up by $30 daily in taxi fares.
Also, no concierge service. The staff seems to know nothing about Tegucigalpa besides there being a shopping center with restaurants near the hotel.
Very little English skills. Even basics like "I need a taxi to the airport" or "I'd like more coffee" were difficult to communicate.
Beds are very spongy. Mattress was a thin foam mattress over an older mattress. Sketchy A/C and no fan. Not what I expected given the other reviews of this place.
Seemed to cater to groups, which it is OK for. But if you're on your own and want to get into town, there are better choices.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

The owners and staff at the Humuya in made our stay absolutely perfect. Besides greeting us by name, accomodating our meal needs with great flexibility and providing a safe, clean and great environment for a good value, the Humuya provides a beautiful setting for weary travelers. I have stayed at the Humuya on several occassions. The spacious well decorated rooms provide great meeting spaces and all the modern amenities of a big hotel with the comforts of home. Our group of 22 was well taken care of and absolutely loved it here. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

Our Church Youth group stayed here during our mission trip. We spent plenty of time in the hotel due to a major political situation in which we were in "lockdown". The employees were very gracious in giving us information as we needed it. The owners were so caring about us and our safety. The apartments were fantastic-clean, comfortable bedding and towels, clean rooms, and beautifully decorated. I purchased some of the pottery as well as the coffee! We had amazing food-fresh squeezed juices, homemade breakfasts and dinners and the best coffee I've ever had! The rooftop view is breathtaking at night and well decorated. I will return! (when it is safe again)

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadso
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

Stayed for 4 weeks in a two room apartement. The hotel is located in a quiet area. Staff very nice and helpfull.
Super stay and we will definitly come back.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

I have been staying at the Humuya Inn for the past several years. I like their location for the particular work that I'm in and I like the atmostphere. The staff is very nice and help you at any time with any problems that you may have.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Humuya Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humuya Inn

Address: Colonia Humuya #1150, Tegucigalpa na, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Francisco Morazan Department > Tegucigalpa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tegucigalpa
#1 Business Hotel in Tegucigalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At last - a rare hotel in the Honduran capital that gives reviewers a chance to gush. It's a triumph for good taste, both in the well-appointed guest rooms and long-stay apartments, all set in a quiet residential neighborhood.Once a spacious Tegucigalpa home, this keeps the trappings of a comfortable family residence with the trimmings needed for modern business travel. It's a beacon of class and courteous service in Tegucigalpa. Rooms in the colonial-style house have been lovingly furnished in Honduran mahogany and decorated with striking Lencan pottery and photos of the country's charms. From the Italian ceramic floor tiles up to the vaulted ceiling, it creates an ambience where you're happy to dally - unsurprisingly, there are many long-term stays. The focal point is a lush patio where lychee and mango trees shade diners taking the complementary breakfast buffet. Climb to a fourth-floor terrace for a 360-degree panorama over Tegucigalpa's sloping sprawl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Humuya Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humuya Hotel Tegucigalpa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humuya Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.