We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Real Colonial Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Real Colonial Hotel to your Saves list
Real Colonial Hotel
Colonia Plamira, Calzada San Martin, No. 458, Distrito Hotelero Plaza San Martin, Tegucigalpa 00504, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Tegucigalpa
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really nice rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed here as a quick stopover. The owner, Carla, picked us up at the bus terminal and showed us where everything was as we passed by it. The mall, restaurants, and a bank were really close. Hot showers and great wifi!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

No frills, but cute, clean, secure. Right around corner from American embassy and some moderately priced but very respectable restaurants/bars. Personal service at the free included breakfast. Not your standard high-rise cookie cutter hotel, so feels very authentic. Even if you gave a credit card when you made the reservation, at checkout, ask to pay in American cash.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanaja, Honduras
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I had a great experience at this Hotel. It is located in a very safe and cute area of Tegucigalpa, The Plaza San Martin District.
I got all the help I needed.
Room was very clean and cute.
I would recommend it to anyone willing to feel safe and have a great service, for the right price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post Falls, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Probably not a backpackers destination, but great for the budget traveler. Very clean rooms, staff is helpful and gracious, and Maria serves a nice breakfast in the downstairs garden. Tres Tintes is across the street with reasonable meals and cold beer, and further around the corner is a little plaza anchored by The Angry Beaver Bar, which actually consists of four individual bars and a place called Mia's which has good wings, fish and chips, and the best pizza I've had in central America. They are located on San Martin Hotel Plaza which is probably the safest stretch of road in Honduras.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I've stayed at Real Colonial about three times already, and I can say anything else but great things about their employees and staff at the hotel. .. The rooms are very specious and the price unbeatable! Great place to stay in Tegucigalpa for business or leisure

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed 3 nights in Real Colonial last week during a trip I did to Tegus from La Ceiba, where I live half the year. It was a welcoming, safe, beautiful hotel with a fantastic breakfast served in the cozy garden behind the rooms. They gave me all the information that I need about where places were. And most importantly, during what is a very cold season for us in Honduras, the AC also served as a heater!! So, I didn't freeze at night. The Italian restaurant, Gino's, is just a 1 minute walk away and had fantastic food. All in all, a very wonderful experience for my first time in Tegus.

Room Tip: A room on the second floor might be quieter than on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Real Colonial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Colonial Hotel

Address: Colonia Plamira, Calzada San Martin, No. 458, Distrito Hotelero Plaza San Martin, Tegucigalpa 00504, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Francisco Morazan Department > Tegucigalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Tegucigalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exclusive areas of Tegucigalpa. Its privileged location and impeccable service and great amenities make our hotel one of the best in its class. Real Colonial Hotel in Tegucigalpa is ideally situated close to the most attractive and fun spots of our city. We are minutes away from the Boulevard Morazán, shopping and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Real Colonial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real Colonial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.