We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet stylish hotel in an otherwise dark and complicated City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Portal del Angel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Portal del Angel to your Saves list
Hotel Portal del Angel
Col. Palmira Ave. Republica del Peru No. 2115, Tegucigalpa 2115, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Tegucigalpa
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Quiet stylish hotel in an otherwise dark and complicated City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night with friends. From the moment of your arrival you are given to experience a very personal and attentive service. I can't recall a more informal hotel during my recent stays. The decor is very stylish and very Mediterranean in style. The rooms are large with all amenities. The restaurant is reasonably priced. Tried some fish with vegetables dish and it was spectacular. The hotel is well protected and gated. The greenery around the hotel and the pool is very eye pleasing. I cold see that anyone could just fall in love with this Hotel and will keep coming back.

If you are after a quiet, relaxing time and expect personal service and good quality room at reasonable prices - this is the hotel to stay. Approx 15 minutes from the airport.

Two minutes away there are convenience stores and a couple of restaurants. Prices vary and you get a really good deal if you book directly with the hotel ( this was my experience).

Thank you guys for my excellent stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AleArias13, General Manager at Hotel Portal del Angel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts and experience. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the food, the atmosphere and the service during your stay at Hotel Portal del Angel. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warmest Regards

AA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    15
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
14
8
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I loved the fact that it wasn't anything like a 5 star and had a character of its own, hence I call it a Boutique Hotel. My only grouse was a weak wi-fi connection and being on a business trip that did bother me a lot. Hondurans are very hospitable and good natured. During my stay at the hotel, there was a wedding and that gave me flavor of their local culture. Prompt service. There wasn't any Fitness Center. Tegucigalpa being touted as an unsafe area for tourists overall doesn't leave much scope for one to check out the city on one's own. Therefore, though a beautiful hotel, gave me a feeling that I was under house arrest. Food though slightly on the steeper side is very good. I also found the hotel staff extremely pleasant.

Room Tip: Nice boutique hotel. I stayed there twice in a week. First room was better than the second one. Thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AleArias13, General Manager at Hotel Portal del Angel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and feedback. We will certainly use your feedback as we look to improve our service. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

AA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about this Hotel. Perfect location, quite and safe. The hotel is beautiful, clean and very romantic. Staff was just above and beyond helpful, they were at your service at any time of the day, if they didn't have what you were looking for they would outsource service. very impressed with their customer service. We stayed in a Jr. Suite, was clean specious and very comfortable. A really cute balcony. The bathroom has a beautiful tub. The restaurant food was delicious. Everything about this place was amazing, as previous reviewer said, I refuse to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AleArias13, General Manager at Hotel Portal del Angel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Wow! Thank you for taking your time to write such a beautiful review, I am delighted to hear that your stay at Hotel Portal del Angel was amazing. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warmest Regards,

AA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and me frequent Tegucigalpa on a monthly basis. We had tried other hotels in the area until we found Portal del Angel. There is absolutely nothing bad we can say about this hotel. We simply love it and used it as a standard when we stayed at a different hotel recently. We decided to try a different hotel ( Aparthotel Ros) recently. We regreted doing that. We will continue to stay and recommend Portal del Angel. We simply love it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AleArias13, General Manager at Hotel Portal del Angel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and please hurry back.

Warmest Regards,

AA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel is fabulous with warm hospitality. Room rates are extremely reasonable with breakfast and airport transfer included. Requests for business services and baggage were expedient and attentive. Dinner for 8 approximately $99USD in restaurant.

Food was wonderful at the restaurant. Common areas burst with color and exquisite wrought iron gates.

Great water pressure. Wireless rocks between three different signals so you surf a lot through your wifi experience.

Used the pool. No chaise lounges. Just grab your room towel and take a dip. Not a pool to sun around but to cool off in! Charming tables and chairs surround it. Great area for a special celebration or wedding.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guanaja
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Absolutely a delight. Very private, secure, romantic. David and Regina plus all the staff took great care of us during our stay. Beautifully appointed rooms include free wi-fi and delicious breakfast on the patio. The restaurant also is a treasure. We ate there every night...it was so good. Loved the snacks and fresh juice they put out in the evenings for guests.Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

For a long time I have been looking for a decent option for hotel in Tegucigalpa. However, the situation was always the same, big hotels with poor service. This time I decided to give a chance to the Portal del Angel thanks to recommendations in tripadvisor.com. I am very happy for this decision. This property is now my only option for Tegucigalpa. The service is personalized and efficient. The room was huge, clean, comfortable and well equipped to sleep and work (I stayed in a basic room, they have other types of rooms, even suites). The wireless internet service is included, reliable and fast. The rate is very good for Tegucigalpa. The breakfast (included in the rate) was excellent< four different options of breakfast and on top of that a table with plenty of delicious fresh fruit, pastry, and fresh juice. I did not get into the pool but it looked great as well. The front porch with outdoor tables was the perfect location to hold small group meetings. One recommendation, the the access to the only safety deposit box available at the front desk. They should provide more privacy to the guests at the moment of depositing valuables. Just something to consider.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Portal del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portal del Angel

Address: Col. Palmira Ave. Republica del Peru No. 2115, Tegucigalpa 2115, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Francisco Morazan Department > Tegucigalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tegucigalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Portal del Angel, we seek to give our guests an unmatched experience of the Honduran culture combined with exquisite quality and comfort. Everything, from our decoration to our food is thought to submerge you in this wonderful culture.All our suites have been design for traveling executives that visit us. Every of our 23 spacious suites are richly decorated with fine wooden floors, persian rugs and hand-made furniture, most featuring balconies and breathtaking views of the city and indoor patio. We guarantee you a comfortable and unforgettable stay full of details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Portal del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portal Del Angel Tegucigalpa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Portal del Angel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.