We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Real InterContinental Tegucigalpa at Multiplaza Mall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Real InterContinental Tegucigalpa at Multiplaza Mall to your Saves list
Real InterContinental Tegucigalpa at Multiplaza Mall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Roble, frente a Mall Multiplaza, Tegucigalpa 2122, Honduras   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Tegucigalpa
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Terrific place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

This hotel offered it all. The Internet connection was good, the staff was attentive, a nice swimming pool, the bar has to be one of the best in Tegucigalpa, a good gym and the hotel is well located. Having a mall across the street was a bonus since I could pop over there to eat if I was in a hurry.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    68
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
15
19
23
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

The hotel is pretty good. The service was very kind and the restaurants are good -which in Honduras is essential. You do not want to go and eat outside normally. The sensation of having 3 security people with guns at the entrance of the hotel seems shocking at first, but after a while you get accostumed to them. The rooms are very nice and the pool is great (if it does not rain).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

I stayed at the Intercontinental Real San Pedro Sula in Feb. 2009 and was very pleasantly surprised. The staff were courteous, the hotel was beautiful, the breakfast quite extensive (although food at the hotel seem expensive in general), the rooms spacious and tasteful, and the pool was lovely to lounge by.

Over all, i enjoyed my stay there. And from what i could tell, (although i really didn't explore) you had might as well stay in a nice hotel while in San Pedro Sula because there's nothing else there.

The shower was hot and strong. I don't remember the bed being particularly uncomfortable. The wireless internet was reliable. All in all, a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

We stayed here for two nights while in Tegucigalpa. It was a real treat to have such comfortable accomodations while in a hectic place like Tegucigalpa. The desk staff and concierge did a lot to make us feel welcome and make arrangements for day trip activities. Pedro at the concierge desk really went out of his way to help us - thanks!

The location of the hotel is more convenient to shopping and restaurants than the Clarion and Marriott (especially if you are going out after dark). The large mall directly across the street from the hotel, along with various restaurants and stores nearby really made our stay convenient.

The rooms at this hotel are not that large, but the beds are very comfortable and there are lots of English - speaking television channels on their cable system. They have a bathrobe in the room and they offer nice toiletries in the bathroom. We had a nice view of the pool with mountains in the distance. As a previous reviewer mentioned: the room windows are soundproofed. It looked like they were quadruple-paned. If you closed the blackout drapes, you could easily sleep later than planned.

In addtion to a nice pool area, they have a nice fitness center with steam room, a business center, two restaurants and a lounge. You can get their breakfast buffet for $15 or the breakfast buffet combined with wireless internet service in your room for $20. If you don't need the wireless service in your room, check out the room service options. The food I ordered for breakfast was very good and it was only $8.50 plus tax and tip (which I thought was a bargain for such a nice hotel).

After staying at the InterContental and touring the Marriott/Clarion hotels while in Tegucigalpa, I would absolutely stay at the InterContinental again.

  • Liked — Quiet Room with Comfortable Beds
  • Disliked — Bathroom was small
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

We found this to be a great hotel. The Intercontinental is a relatively short drive from the airport and does offer shuttle service - in my opinion, it is MUCH better to observe the Tegucigalpa traffic, then to drive in it. The hotel restaurant and bar were both very good. Perhaps most importantly, the Intercontinental staff are incredible. They were extremely helpful with dinner reservations, tours and other transportation arrangements. Every employee we encountered spoke good English (if needed) and many would even greet us by name. Frankly, I would match their customer service against any 5 star hotel in the US. The hotel is located right across from a very modern shopping mall, complete with movie theaters. We walked over to the mall several times during our stay and had no problems whatsoever with safety or anything else. You do have to walk across a couple of lanes of busy traffic, but it wasn't a big deal in our experience. If I had to offer one minor critique, the bathroom was a bit small for this caliber of hotel. But, I am really stretching for something critical here. Overall, a very favorable experience at a modern hotel with extremely professional and pleasant staff.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

My husband and I came to Honduras for work and we had to stay in this hotel for a month while waiting for our permanent place to be ready. My only complaint would be is I speak a couple of languages, but Spanish is not one of them, so not always I had luck getting from the staff what I needed and ordering food at the restaurant was challenging sometimes. The reception people do speak English, apart from them, you will have 50/50 luck getting what you need if you don't speak Spanish. Other than that, I do agree that this is very nice hotel, yes I would stay here again, and yes I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2008

Great hotel in the centre of town. The rooms are reasonably sized and really clean and comfortable. Bathrooms in the room are quite small but really very clean and nice. The restaurant in the hotel is great and they have a nice small pool. The staff are all super helpful and friendly too. All in all a great place to stay for a few days.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Real InterContinental Tegucigalpa at Multiplaza Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental Tegucigalpa at Multiplaza Mall

Address: Avenida Roble, frente a Mall Multiplaza, Tegucigalpa 2122, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Francisco Morazan Department > Tegucigalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tegucigalpa
#3 Family Hotel in Tegucigalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Real InterContinental Tegucigalpa at Multiplaza Mall 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real InterContinental Tegucigalpa it's where you want to be, ideally located at the heart of the city's business and entertainment district. This hotel is adjacent to Tegucigalpa's best shopping mall with 154 stores and other venues like restaurants, movie theaters, convenient stores and more, right across from our lobby. Enjoy staying at this hotel property which mixes the best comfort, technology and entertainment. Indulge yourself at the at Factory Steak and Lobster one of the most acclaimed in the city, where you will enjoy imported lobster, prime cuts and many other specially prepared dishes. If you are searching for excitement, have fun at Nau Lounge Bar, where local and international guests get together in a trendy atmosphere to enjoy music and drinks complemented by a great selection of sushi. Alternatively, chill out at our lounge style terrace, a great place to wind down after work or to enjoy drinks and dine. The Market restaurant is our newest onsite dinning option, where you can built your own pizzas, Carpaccio's, pastas, salads, hamburgers and more. Our 157 rooms feature streaming speed internet access and they were all specifically designed to deliver the best comfort and rest. With soundproof windows, ultra sumptuous bedding with 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, HD-LCD TV, work desk with ergonomic chair, alarm clock with iPod docking station and spacious bath room with rain shower. So on your next trip to Tegucigalpa stay with us, we will make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Real InterContinental Tegucigalpa at Multiplaza Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel Real Tegucigalpa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real InterContinental Tegucigalpa at Multiplaza Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.