We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best conch soup in years” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cacerola

La Cacerola
Col Lomas del Mayab | Ave. Republica de Costa Rica No 1692, Tegucigalpa, Honduras
504 9957-4585
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 84 Restaurants in Tegucigalpa
Price range: $1 - $6
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best conch soup in years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Enough said on the title. It's been years since I do not try a soup this good. Fair price, delicious soup.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCacerolaHN, Owner at La Cacerola, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for your submitted review and your time taken.

"Best Conch Soup in years"... Wow! What an honor you gave us! Your words make us so proud and happy. There is no greater satisfaction to know that your customers had a `wow factor´ experience at your place. We humbly appreciate your comment and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    25
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Afternoon at la Cacerola”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Went here out of curiosity with a party of seven and we all had a memorable experience. The soups were distinctively tasty and matched the bill. I would personally go as far as saying it's the best bowl of soup I've ever had. lack words to describe. there is an assorted group on the menu, however on the day we went not all were available. Moreover what we ordered were quite exquisite and satisfied the palate. Also, the sandwiches were quite good and commendable. The one I had( Pavo con Guacamole) had a slight kick to it so far as been peppered that leaves you craving for more regardless.
The only downside to this restaurant was the lack of attendance by the servers. Immediately as we walked in we couldn't find space as a group of six initially and it would have been courteous if one of the staff personals had taken an initiative and find us sitting or trying and create comfortable six for all in our group. However we stood up for a little while trying to figure out where to seat and finally had to turn tables and move chairs to get ourselves seated. All these meanwhile there were considerably large enough tables and chairs but been occupied haphazardly by group of one or two. Anyway I felt the staff could have been ushering people into seatings according to seize to create space for larger ones just in case. besides these slight experience and the wait to be served(probably due to the amount of people that day) we finally got served and it was a pleasant experience. Look forward to going back soon.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great soup place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We in Honduras love a good soup, I recommend the cacerola for any given day of the week. They divide each day with different soups and you never can get tired.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WOW!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We went there after having driven by many times. Were we suprised! the place is small and cozy the service excellent and the food......... We had the caracol (conch) soup, 4 cheese paninia and a pork sandwich. Loved everything!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Sopa!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I went to La Cacerola for lunch while in Tegus for business. This is a restaurants that specializes in soups, sandwiches, and had a couple taco options on the menu as well. I had the Tapado sopa and a sandwich which was alot of food and it was delicious.

The Tapado soup had some type of beef, plantains both (ripened and unripened), yucca, and other ingredients. I also ordered a chicken sandwich which came with french fries and had some type of hot mayo which really accompanied the sandwich well.

I would recommend this place for any occasion while visiting Tegus. Wish I had tried the tortilla soup now...sounds yummy too!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCacerola, Owner at La Cacerola, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your nice comments. We are glad you enjoyed our Tapado and we welcome you to enjoy the rest of our soups, specially our Tortilla Soup. We also glad you enjoyed our Spicy Chicken Avocado Sandwich, created specially for those who love spicy, and we invite you try our Chicken Almond and our Cuban on your next visit. :)

Best Wishes,
Ada Martinez - Executive Chef & Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cacerola also viewed

Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazan Department
Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazan Department
 
Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazan Department
Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazan Department
 

Been to La Cacerola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cacerola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.