We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice lobby shame about the rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Copantl Hotel y Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Copantl Hotel y Club to your Saves list
Copantl Hotel y Club
Boulevard del Sur, residencial Los Arcos | P.O. Box 1060, San Pedro Sula 21411, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Brighton
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“nice lobby shame about the rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

when you walk into this hotel you automatically feel in a pleasant relaxed hotel. The location is great but central enough. The rooms and bathrooms are very tired however would be a three star standard but clean enough. Not a bad stay at all but far from great. I stayed at the crowne plaza on my second stay in San Pedro Sula and found that a lot more central and modern - to my liking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    46
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
13
4
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for five nights while attending a convention in San Pedro Sula. Overall, it was a very nice experience.

We stayed on the 5th floor, and had a nice view of the pool and tennis courts. The bed was very comfortable. The flat screen TV had a nice selection of channels. The AC was good and cold (which was refreshing with the high heat outside!). The bathroom had very little extras, but had the necessities - good hot shower, hair dryer, shampoo and soap. We always had to ask for wash cloths and hand towels. And only two towels were provided... but that was ok.

There is a safe in the closet, and a desk in the room. Nothing fancy, but all was good.

The lobby is nice, with a good restaurant. The breakfast buffet is sufficient, and there is a hopping bar with live entertainment.

There are two gift shops in the lobby - one is a very cheapish touristy shop and the other is a nice jewelry shop.

The staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

The personnel is friendly & very attentive. Now king beds have firm mattress, not comfortable at all for me. Hotel lobby is large good for informal business meetings, but over all it is a bit rundown: bathrooms, swimming pool area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Traveling to HN many times I have come to the conclusion that if your staying in San Pedro Sula there is only one hotel to stay at Copantl. They have a wonderful staff from the front desk to the restaurant and bar. They truly care about taking care of you, they are courteous and friendly. After being delayed with meeting that lasted over a month it was a great experience coming back to the hotel to relax or do business. It's a good place to have meetings.

They have a work out center, with massage and a very large swimming pool and plenty of tennis courts. They also have a restaurant on the 7th floor with great food and a nice view of the city and country side. A great place to watch evening thunder storms.

It is in a great location across the street from a large mall with movie theaters.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good if you want a refrigerator you needs to request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Taking a group of 27 students on an adventure-packed 2 weeks in the rainforests and islands of Honduras would be stressful enough - we needed a comfortable, safe and stress-free place to start and end our trip. The Hotel Copantl was just what we needed! Having spent 36hours travelling, check in was efficient and staff helpful. The rooms were delightfully air-conditioned and the buffet lunch very good value for money. We had arranged to have a set buffet in the evening, and this was also prepared to a good standard with good service. You could not fault the cleanliness of the hotel. Our only grumble was the pool - it was empty! Being British and not used to sun and heat we had been looking forward to diving into a pool - but it was not to be.

However, 2 weeks later, having had no electricity, running water or decent sanitation, we returned to Hotel Copantl for our final night in Honduras. Never have flushing toilets been more appreciated! We upgraded our meal that evening to the wonderful Steak House on the top floor of the hotel with views over San Pedro Sula, and it was excellent (although we had been surviving on tortilla and plantain for 2 weeks, so our views could have been clouded by protein overdose!)

Our hotel booking and transfers in Honduras were all organised by the wonderful Mariella at Maya Temple Tours, who were efficient and friendly at all times - I could not recommend them highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

A very pleasant stay, staff very friendly and polite. An old hotel with confortable services. Food is very good. Location is easy and convenient to get your business done. Decoration should be renovated but is still ok..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

You could choose the more Americanized hotels in the neighbourhood. Or you could choose the most Honduran one in this very safe neighbourhood for a more authentic experience of a locally owned and operated hotel.

Convenient, safe, spotlessly clean with large tropical lobby and beautifully landscaped grounds. An enormous pool that I usually had to myself swimming laps in the morning. One of the best hotel gyms I've ever encountered. Talented chefs and truly warm, inviting, young Honduran servers in all restaurants. A warm, humid, tropical evening spent outdoors on the rooftop La Churrasqueria restaurant overlooking San Pedro is heaven and a must-do, even if you are not staying there. Great almost-nightly events in Bar Popal Nah. (server Sara is a doll)

I stayed for two weeks on business and was treated like family the entire time. No complaints.

Very close to two of SPS's largest malls and lots of other restaurants.

Room Tip: Any room that faces the most enormous, spectacular, giant, gargantuan, 8-story ceiba tree you are li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copantl Hotel y Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copantl Hotel y Club

Address: Boulevard del Sur, residencial Los Arcos | P.O. Box 1060, San Pedro Sula 21411, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Cortes Department > San Pedro Sula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Copantl Hotel y Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copantl Hotel y

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copantl Hotel y Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.