We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metrotel Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Metrotel Express to your Saves list
Metrotel Express
Autopista Sps-la Lima O-E ,Km 4 (Hwy to the Airport), San Pedro Sula 1336, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in November and it was a wonderful experience.The entire staff was great,always going out of their way to help you in any way possible.Everything was spotless,the rooms ,the gardens, the pool,the entire complex.The hotel is located very near the airport,and the center of town is only a short taxi ride away.The breakfast is also well worth the money also.I would highly recommend it for anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    36
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
16
25
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utila, Honduras
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Safe, friendly, lovely grounds, swimming pool, breakfast, clean, suites and rooms. Near the airport, next to Larsons for meals. This is a wonderful hotel owned by a great family of hoteliers in Central America.
A good place to stay for a day or a week, or business trip. Good for families, solos and couples.
We live on Utila and have been staying at the Metrotel (previously Microtel) for many years and have never been disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This is a very nice hotel with a pool and very pretty gardens. Upon arrival there is always a doorman to greet you and to help with bags. Breakfast is continental but includes a nice variety of pastries, cereal, fruit and yogurt. If you want something more substantial, Larson's Restaurant is right next door. This is also a very secure hotel for those uneasy about staying in the city.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so you might want to try and get a room on the 1st floor or use the service of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I hadn't heard of the Metrotel Express Hotel before I went to San Pedro Sula but an associate insisted I should stay there . It is truly a gem. Even though I speak and understand little Spanish, I felt the staff went out of their way to greet and make me feel welcome. The rooms were immaculate and very comfortable. I would equate it to our stateside Hampton Inns. The location is ideal with both the city and the airport easily accessible. The surprise was the acre size tropical garden with pool. Good continental breakfast and Wifi throughout. Very pleasant. I will return there and can very comfortably and highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We hve absolutely nothing negative to say about anything here. The staff, room, service, complimentary breakfast, facilities and security were all 100%. The room had A/C, comfy beds and WIFI worked perfect. The staff went out of their way to help with whatever we needed. We stayed 3 nights and gave us assistance with buses aand they always have a taxi waiting. Take advantage of the gym and pool and lush green grass with a volleyball court. It is a taxi ride into town but there is a restaurant 50meters from the rooms. and the staff are happy to call for any food delivery. Location is close to the airport but a distance(15mins drive) to town.
If you book online or call ahead you get a huge discount. Walk in at this time was $90USD but online was $65USD.
A great place to start or finish a trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

After spending time under a fan with mosquitoes, warm questionable water and various bars competing to be the loudest in the nation, this place was paradise.
I checked in at about 8am with no reservation. They charged me $60, which was cheaper than advertised and fed me breakfast. The room had an awesome A/C, TV with about 100 channels and a large, clean bathroom. It's back away from the road so you don't hear any traffic. The concierge was extremely friendly and helpful. There are taxis waiting starting at about 4am, and it's also the closest to the airport.
It's a great place to end your trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We arrived at night and we were received very well...courteous,friendly and promptly.Our room was clean and comfortable with air condition and warm water. Their swimming pool was clean and their gardens were beautiful.
The free breakfast was good (pastries,coffee,juice,toast and yogurt).The restaurant attached offers good food but a little pricey. The hotel offered free cookies and coffee as snacks? A good thing was having Internet and being close to the airport.
What I didn't like was the fact that upstairs you can smell the smoke from those who don't respect the NO smoking sign. Another thing was that the bathtub got clogged when we took a shower.Hotel is a bit pricey for what it offers.
Overall I felt very safe ! Which was very important to me!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metrotel Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metrotel Express

Address: Autopista Sps-la Lima O-E ,Km 4 (Hwy to the Airport), San Pedro Sula 1336, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Cortes Department > San Pedro Sula
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Metrotel Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metrotel Express Hotel San Pedro Sula
Microtel San Pedro Sula
Metrotel Express San Pedro Sula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metrotel Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.