We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Morazan O- E, btwn Avda 10 & 11, San Pedro Sula, Honduras   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 34 hotels in San Pedro Sula
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not worth the money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I recently spent 2 weeks at this Crowne Plaza only because the staff is so friendly and attentive but the rooms are definitely out dated and most things don't work like the CD player in the room and a broken lamp. There are certainly a few more hotels in San Pedro Sula at the same price and better amenities and creature comforts. My reservation was supposed to include a free night which the promotion stated and was not credited at check out. I am still waiting for the staff to get back to me because I even submitted a copy of the promotion which I saved on my computer. By the way the pool was dirty and has very old patio furniture. You have been warned...

Room Tip: The only nice rooms are on the executive floors but you will have to pay a bit more and for the mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Carlos A,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
6
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I am in San Pedro Sula for many nights per year. I have stayed at the Hilton, InterContinental and Holiday Inn express, plus some others. After reading some of the reviews, I booked only one night at this Crowne Plaza, even though I'll be in San Pedro Sula for a total of 9 nights this month.

To my pleasant surprise, I really liked this hotel. It's not within walking distance of the big malls. When I arrived, the bellman/doorman unloaded 5 bags and provided free (and flawless) car valet to the secured underground parking. The staff always remembered my name. Yes, the hotel has not recently been remodeled, but everything worked great. I had good A/C; good hot shower; clean room and good, clean and smell-free bed. The room could have used one more lamp, but really the room was good. For costing only $1 more per night than the Holiday Inn Express, this hotel included great service. As a priority club member, they provided free drinks and appetizers in a really cool lounge. Dinner was priced about the same as the "American" restaurants, and had really good food! (not nearly as expensive as InterContinental). The complimentary breakfast the next day included a breakfast buffet with omelet station. It was a super breakfast with table service, as well. Clearly worth paying $1 more than the Holiday Inn. If you value any personalized service at all, this hotel is great. Sure the Hilton and InterContinental are nicer, but if you care about value, this hotel is the best of the "gringo friendly" pack.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I traveled for business and so came and went often. The staff were always present, helpful and smiling.
My room had a terrific view of the air conditioning units. Oh well, I wasn't there much. The room itself was quiet, clean and had a comfortable bed. I don't know what it is about coffee service in the room, but I once again didn't get my coffee refreshed when they cleaned the room.
The restaurant was fine with good variety. The staff was great in the restaurant, remembering how I liked my coffee, etc. Friendly and accommodating. The Wifi in the lobby was great though it didn't extend to my third floor room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placencia, Belize
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Myself and a colleague arrived at the hotel after 10pm to find that they had our reservation dates wrong and were expecting us the day before and so without contacting us to see if we were still coming (after charging our card for the lost night) they sold our room. We were left with no reservation. The front desk staff had no clue how to handle this situation and looked completly lost it was not until I met their 'leader' the 'manager' that I understood why. Terrible customer service. Telling us there was ONE room then saying there were two people that may not show so they might have TWO rooms.. then when one person did show that would have left them with TWO rooms but suddenly none were available.

When we asked to make a telephone call they were unable to get the phone to work??? When using a staffs cell phone the call went through???

After all was said and done we ended up at Holiday Inn Express and it was much much cleaner, far more traffic and WAY better customer service. We took it as a blessing afterall.

Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula needs a good cleaning and upgrade as well as simple customer service training at the front desk.

For any other travel we conduct in San Pedro Sula we will stay elsewhere.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear dashabelize,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your experience with us. We strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time and I am deeply sorry we did not manage this for your stay. Please accept my sincere apology for the misunderstanding regarding your reservation. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to improve the quality and services we offer. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights for a conference at the ExpoCentre. Considering that the hotel is in Central America, the lobby and bar are absolutely fine and comfortable. The service was excellent always every day just the prices were a little on the steep side but the laundry prices were reasonable given the normal hotel rip offs for this service. My room as just standard on the 4th floor and was of a 4 star standard with very comfy bed and large desk area. The only thing was that the safe was missing in the room but i just locked my valuables in my suitcase when I was out during the day. I recommend this hotel definitely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here for three nights on the 9th floor. The hotel is very dated in its public areas. No changes in 20+ years and not much activity either. The gym has not been touched for 20 years, is in a tiny room with cheap plastic floors that were dirty. The equipment just about functions. The room I stayed in was OK, clean. There was no hot water (nor did other guests have that privilege either). The staff try their best, but the lipstick on this old concrete tower block is hard to mask.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Moonstonemoclips,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I'm sorry you were unhappy with the appearance of the property. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen Gray
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Was very disappointed. just was not very nice. Smelled musty. Rooms average Food in restaurant less than par.Stayed at worst but also much better. Glad only had to stay one night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Mark W,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time and I am truly disappointed we did not manage this for your stay. I'm sorry our rooms and the food served during your stay did not live up to your expectations. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula

Address: Boulevard Morazan O- E, btwn Avda 10 & 11, San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Cortes Department > San Pedro Sula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 hotels in San Pedro Sula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel San Pedro Sula. Our hotel has king size and double bedrooms, and a presidential suite, 2 phone lines per room, plus extension in bathroom, 25 TV with remote control,32' LCD TV in Executive Floors, Ipod dock station in Executive floors, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, safety box, vanity mirror and hairdryer in each room. Radio Cd Player wake-up clock, desk in each room with data port and Free Wireless Internet connection, satellite TV with Cinemax, HBO, HBO signature, HBO plus, CNN, Univision, ESPN, CBS. Restaurante 'Rio de Piedras' open daily. ATMOSFERA lounge and bar , 6 meeting rooms from 15 to 250 persons. Beauty salon,Casino, tourism tours and information desk. Business center.Wireless Internet in Bar, Restaurant, Pool, Gym, Lobby, Bussines Center and Executive Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula Hotel San Pedro Sula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.