We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Morazan O- E, btwn Avda 10 & 11, San Pedro Sula, Honduras   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Placencia, Belize
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Myself and a colleague arrived at the hotel after 10pm to find that they had our reservation dates wrong and were expecting us the day before and so without contacting us to see if we were still coming (after charging our card for the lost night) they sold our room. We were left with no reservation. The front desk staff had no clue how to handle this situation and looked completly lost it was not until I met their 'leader' the 'manager' that I understood why. Terrible customer service. Telling us there was ONE room then saying there were two people that may not show so they might have TWO rooms.. then when one person did show that would have left them with TWO rooms but suddenly none were available.

When we asked to make a telephone call they were unable to get the phone to work??? When using a staffs cell phone the call went through???

After all was said and done we ended up at Holiday Inn Express and it was much much cleaner, far more traffic and WAY better customer service. We took it as a blessing afterall.

Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula needs a good cleaning and upgrade as well as simple customer service training at the front desk.

For any other travel we conduct in San Pedro Sula we will stay elsewhere.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear dashabelize,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your experience with us. We strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time and I am deeply sorry we did not manage this for your stay. Please accept my sincere apology for the misunderstanding regarding your reservation. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to improve the quality and services we offer. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
2
6
3
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights for a conference at the ExpoCentre. Considering that the hotel is in Central America, the lobby and bar are absolutely fine and comfortable. The service was excellent always every day just the prices were a little on the steep side but the laundry prices were reasonable given the normal hotel rip offs for this service. My room as just standard on the 4th floor and was of a 4 star standard with very comfy bed and large desk area. The only thing was that the safe was missing in the room but i just locked my valuables in my suitcase when I was out during the day. I recommend this hotel definitely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here for three nights on the 9th floor. The hotel is very dated in its public areas. No changes in 20+ years and not much activity either. The gym has not been touched for 20 years, is in a tiny room with cheap plastic floors that were dirty. The equipment just about functions. The room I stayed in was OK, clean. There was no hot water (nor did other guests have that privilege either). The staff try their best, but the lipstick on this old concrete tower block is hard to mask.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Moonstonemoclips,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I'm sorry you were unhappy with the appearance of the property. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen Gray
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Was very disappointed. just was not very nice. Smelled musty. Rooms average Food in restaurant less than par.Stayed at worst but also much better. Glad only had to stay one night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Mark W,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time and I am truly disappointed we did not manage this for your stay. I'm sorry our rooms and the food served during your stay did not live up to your expectations. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Fulton, Tennessee
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I decided to try the Crown Plaza in San Pedro Sula due to the renovations going on at the Inter-Continental and it turned out to be worse. First of all check-in took 20 minutes not because of a crowd (only 2 people in front of me) but because of only one desk clerk on duty and he seemed to be unexpierenced. I was told that I recieved an upgrade for being a Platinum Rewards member but I did not, ended up in standard room with two double beds. After going out to dinner I came back to the room and turned on the A/C, after about an hour the room was still just under 80 degrees. Called the front desk and was told " the problem was due to the power company and not the hotel and it should be fixed in about an hour". The A/C never did work during the night.
Around 3:00 AM someone attempted to enter my room with a key card. The safety latch was on the door so they could not enter. As I got fully awake I was able to figure out that the front desk had mistakenly assigned my room to another guest because the front desk clerk had me down as in a different room.
Spoke to the manager in the morning when checking out and she said she "was sorry" for the problems. Not as sorry as I was !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear msmintn,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to San Pedro Sula.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I was in this hotel before. It was good At that time. Pne year ago. There is not maintenance in the hotel. The pool area look abandon. Also the water in the pool is dirty. Prices in te restaurant are expensives along with the poor service and choice to what the say is a buffet. I really recoment other hotel this has a low quality and popr service

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear Josephcu,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased you liked the convenient location of our hotel. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This hotel has comfortable rooms with all conveniences. Exception staff, most of whom speak English. Wi-fi available. Very good breakfast included. Convenient for getting a taxi to the artisan's market for excellent souvenirs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula

Address: Boulevard Morazan O- E, btwn Avda 10 & 11, San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Cortes Department > San Pedro Sula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel San Pedro Sula. Our hotel has king size and double bedrooms, and a presidential suite, 2 phone lines per room, plus extension in bathroom, 25 TV with remote control,32' LCD TV in Executive Floors, Ipod dock station in Executive floors, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, safety box, vanity mirror and hairdryer in each room. Radio Cd Player wake-up clock, desk in each room with data port and Free Wireless Internet connection, satellite TV with Cinemax, HBO, HBO signature, HBO plus, CNN, Univision, ESPN, CBS. Restaurante 'Rio de Piedras' open daily. ATMOSFERA lounge and bar , 6 meeting rooms from 15 to 250 persons. Beauty salon,Casino, tourism tours and information desk. Business center.Wireless Internet in Bar, Restaurant, Pool, Gym, Lobby, Bussines Center and Executive Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula Hotel San Pedro Sula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.