We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in San Pedro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Mediterraneo

Save Saved
You added Clarion Suites Mediterraneo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Suites Mediterraneo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Barrio Guamilito 4 avenida 6 calle | una cuadra arriba de La Prensa, San Pedro Sula, Honduras (Formerly Hotel Gran Mediterraneo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 hotels in San Pedro Sula
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oasis in San Pedro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

We loved this hotel!!! It was so charming, warm and hospitable with all the modern conveniences. We felt so taken care of in every way from being greeted by the bell boy at her taxi to the warmth of every service person and owner. The room comes with a sumptuous breakfast with personal attention of each course and choice. Its a great location in the center but on a corner that feels slightly less bustle. Also the warmth and decorations of the lobby, courtyard and design make it a special place where you feel like you want to be. And the rooms and spacious and quiet.The restaurant is great. I don't understand why anyone would choose a more generic chain hotel if they can stay in a warm place like this with all the amenities.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    16
    3
    7
    0
See reviews for
23
29
11
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
coventry, RI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

The Gran Mediterraneo popped out as a good choice while we were looking to book a hotel on line for a two night stay in SPS.
In reality it turned out even better.
For us it was all around excellent.
Great value and location, clean, spacious yet intimate, quiet, unique, warm and friendly.
We love the environmental engagement of the manager/owner and the solutions he has implemented in a "green hotel" !!
And have you ever been hugged by the breakfast lady (Indira?)............. ?
Thanks to everyone there it was a sweet stay and such a warm intro to Honduras for us first-timers.
Best regards
Renee + Mike on Jan 26/27.2011

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011 via mobile

We stayed a week here during a business trip and really enjoyed the quality and service we received. The food was excellent, "desayuno typical" became a favorite, and the staff was great. It's an oasis in SPS.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

We had a very pleasant stay at the Hotel Gran Mediterrameo in San Pedro Sula. It is very nice, very clean and the people were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

You will NEVER find another hotel in San Pedro Sula that provides so much comfort for such a low price. I've stayed in just about every hotel in SPS...from the low-cost Family Inn and the Villa Nuria all the way to the Intercontiental and the Hyatt. Everyone I bring to the Gran Med is amazed that you can get so much service, comfort and a great location for such a low price.

You won't find the any hotel owners checking in on you at breakfast in San Pedro Sula...EXCEPT for Fais and Yoselyn. I feel like family!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

Great location in San Pedro Sula - walking distance to central square. Rooms are very clean and the staff are very friendly and want to make sure there guests are comfortable. All for a very reasonable price - overall I found this hotel to be a great value.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

This hotel is large enough to be a fully serviced business, tourist hotel yet still small and friendly enough to verge on the boutique and avoiding trappings of large chain hotel. I arrived as UK tourist before heading off hike mountains. My comments are,

Very friendly owners who talk with you at breakfast (fluent English), offer advice and even offered to call hotel in copan for me.
Very large and comfortable room, my double had desk, chaise longe, flat screen tv, iron, and lovely period furniture. Free wifi good. Great beds and linen.
Tasteful Mediterranean decor e.g. travertino and architectural period features. Central courtyard with pool feature.
Great restaurant with substantial inclusive breakfast and waitress happy to take time to improve my faltering Spanish.
Very competitive rates vs chain hotels on circular.

Points to consider.
..this is in central sps versus the chains which are on the circumnavigation road. Staying in centre is not necessarily a plus depending on what you need out sps.
The pool is in an internal courtyard, very pretty but not somewhere to sit by or swim in.

Above all a lovely hotel run by exceptional people.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Suites Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Mediterraneo

Address: Barrio Guamilito 4 avenida 6 calle | una cuadra arriba de La Prensa, San Pedro Sula, Honduras (Formerly Hotel Gran Mediterraneo)
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Cortes Department > San Pedro Sula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 hotels in San Pedro Sula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Suites Mediterraneo 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Clarion Suites Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Mediterraneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.