We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sweet, welcoming, and homey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diving Pelican Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Ceiba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Diving Pelican Inn
250 yards East of Sambo Creek | Beside the Hotel Canadien, La Ceiba, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 La Ceiba B&B and Inns
boulder, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“sweet, welcoming, and homey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

From the moment we contacted Kathryn and Jim at the Diving Pelican, they were helpful in answering our many questions about Honduras traveling in general. Their transport was reliable and their grounds safe without feeling removed from their small neighborhood. The accomodations were comfortable and their company enjoyable but not intrusive. Being able to walk the beach a few steps away was great. Breakfast was to order and served in a relaxed atmosphere. The communal verandah was a sweet place to hang out in the hammock.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
39
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

Sometimes everything you read IS true and the Diving Pelican Inn does not disappoint! Set on a near deserted beach this 3 room B & B is as laid back and friendly as you can get.
We had the Ocean view room which was spacious, clean and had awesome amenities-dvd player with a huge range of movies, air-con (we didn't use it or need it as the ocean breezes were perfect) coffee maker and tons of toiletries and fluffy towels!
Jim and Cathryn are the perfect hosts-southern hospitality at it's best. They go out of their way to help and the breakfasts are delicious!! "The Barefoot Saloon" is a great place to relax, sip a cerveza or play 7 card stud.
The beach is steps away and has beautiful sand. This place is perfect for those who want to get away from it all.

  • Liked — Awesome hosts, hearing the ocean at night in bed
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

We were in Honduras for just over three weeks and spent our last week at Diving Pelican. We loved our room with the AC, great pressured shower, and believe it our not, 3-ply toilet paper. Very decedant!!

Our rooms were private and quiet and only steps from the outdoor entertainment area and the beach.

Our favourite things about Diving Pelican:

The quiet, empty beach
Laying in the hammock in the champa
Big Jim's Jumbo breakfasts

The best thing about this Inn is the way Jim and Cathryn treat their guests. They manage to make you feel like you are family and went above the call of duty, by any standards, to make you feel welcome and taken care of.

If you are staying on the North Coast in Honduras, this is the place you need to be.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — That I had to leave
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperas Cove, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2007

Jim picked us up in San Pedro Sula from the airport with an abundance of beverages from the Diving Pelican Inn-Bare Foot Saloon. He was an excellent tour guide on our three hour trip to La Ceiba. We stayed four nights and enjoyed great hospitality, super breakfast every morning, many refreshing drinks from a bar that never closes, and most of all relaxed. Thanks to Jim and Cathryn and their dedication to providing excellent sevice.

Rob and Vicki (11/08-12/07)

  • Liked — Great service and atmosphere.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

Great, really private rooms, completely seperate from the hussle of the great house. Really cold AC and high pressure hot water. The room decor is what you find at a rich friends vacation villa. Upmarket sheets, expensive drapes making the rooms dark when you want to sleep late or take that afternoon nap. Elegant, EXTREMELY safe feeling about the place, Warm, really friendly hosts who do biz american style, not get to it tomorrow maybe (if ?) ever central american style. RIGHT on the beach, not the old hussle near beach nonsense. The place is clean, cool, friendly and comfortable. We had the huge palapa all to our selves which made us feel well.......rich! This place makes you want to sell everthing and build a house on the beach in Honduras. Great value for the money. The sort of place to just hang for a few days and lay around and relax, Next door to two hotels, so you have a couple of bars and restaurants to walk maybe 25 yards to get to. The hosts, Cathryn and big Jim, could not have been more attentitive. Felt like I was staying with family.

  • Liked — up scale, mid price, VERY safe and Clean, rooms feel like a home not a hotel, owner's really friendly!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

Wow! If you want to relax away from it all, but want all the comforts, this is the place. Sun on the well maintained beach or enjoy the tropical breeze in a hammock on the covered patio. Walk to nearby restaurants for great fish and seafood. Take a day trip to Cayos Cochinos for some of the best snorkeling in Honduras. Plenty of activities for the adventurous including horseback riding, hot pools and a zip-line canopy tour.
The Texan owners set me up for a two night stay in Utila which was outstanding, great food and very reasonable accommodations.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

This was my second trip to Honduras. I stayed almost 2 weeks this time and had a wonderful time. My room had a tv, vcr, dvd player, shower, coffee pot and hot water. I was 20 steps from the ocean. The water and beach were great. We went to Utila via the ferry. The host had a beach bond fire for us the last night. I will return.

  • Liked — room accommodations
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Diving Pelican Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diving Pelican Inn

Address: 250 yards East of Sambo Creek | Beside the Hotel Canadien, La Ceiba, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Luxurious and Intimate 3 room inn on the beach. With a beautiful pool, waterfall and large deck area. All rooms have air conditioning, TV, DVD player with access to hundreds of DVDs,private baths with hot water showers,fans, free purified water, purified ice, coffee pots and one has small kitchen. Beach chairs and towels provided. There is a very large out door area for relaxing with a fully stocked honor bar for exclusive use of our guests. You can also enjoy a tropical drink and 2 for 1 Happy Hour at our Barefoot Saloon. There are 3 restaurants within walking distance. From our inn you can take part in various exciting and relaxing tours, go for a dive trip or snorkeling at Cayos Cochina, take an exciting ride through the rain forest and relax afterwards in the rejuvenating thermal waters at the Sambo Creek Canopy Tour and Hot springs, or take a Kayak ride through the Cacao Lagoon and enjoy the monkeys and other wildlife you'll experience. We are here to be of service and making you a repeat guest is our one and only purpose. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Diving Pelican Inn Honduras/La Ceiba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diving Pelican Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Diving Pelican Inn to your Saves list