We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting and people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diving Pelican Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Ceiba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Diving Pelican Inn
Save
You added Diving Pelican Inn to your Saves list
250 yards East of Sambo Creek | Beside the Hotel Canadien, La Ceiba, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 La Ceiba B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had an amazing stay with Michelle, Andrea and the staff at the inn. The accommodations were top notch, and the beauty of the area and kindness of the people can't be beat. Michelle went above and beyond our expectations to make sure everything on our stay went well. She was great with communications and assisted with everything related to our arrival, stay, and departure. The inn was very clean and well taken care of.

Even if you're not able to stay here (which you really should consider), it's worth stopping by to have a bite to eat, grab and drink and enjoy the beach. I can't say enough good things about our visit, and I hope we have the chance to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hola our friends, hope you enjoyed Utila. We had an absolutely great time with you here, even with the not so perfect weather it was great. Your pictures of Honduras are wonderful, thanks for adding it to the Trip Advisor page. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts with the TA community. We hope you have a chance to return again in the future.

Michelle and Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
39
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed here after a less then enjoyable ride for 3 hours in a taxi. Michelle doesn't usually take people without a reservation, but we met her when we stopped at her hotel for a drink, before going to our hotel. Everything was booked in Sambo Creek because of Semana Santa, but Michelle let us stay in a small cabana the next day and we stayed for 3 nights.. She even was so kind to drive us to the bus station when we were leaving as taxis are not readily available. The accomodations were great and the food and service excellent. It is right on the beach a short walk to the town along the beach. There is also a pool which was great just for cooling off. Michelle and her staff were extremely helpful and arranged side trips within hours. We went to a huge hot springs which included, transportation, lava mud scrub, hot oil massage, huge tray of fruit while relaxing. There was no time limit and we were told we could let them know when we were ready. The cost was $25.00 a person, amazing. She also arranged a kayak tour in a logoon 15 minutes away where we each had our own guide and spotted large troops of howler monkeys and beautiful scenery. Peaceful and inexpensive. I would highly recommend this place, both for the accomodation and the friendliness. Great value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Hey thanks for stopping by and thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your time in Honduras and your stay with us it was great having you here. You are correct Honduras is a hidden gem that more people should come and discover. Come back again soon. Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor we booked at the Diving Pelican Inn and were not disappointed. The beach, pool, rooms, beds, food, drinks at the bar, and above all, Michelle and her daughter went above and beyond and exceeded our expectations. Rides were arranged, activities were suggested and were arranged from zip lining, hot springs to personal tours of Sambo Creek. Our only regret is that we didn't have more time at this lovely spot. It was definitely a great introduction to Honduras.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
I am very glad that you were not disappointed, we always hope that the actual trip exceeds peoples expectations. I hope you are enjoying the rest of your time in Honduras and try to come back soon. I posted the pictures of Turbo on our website so you can watch his progress, I think it will be a matter of days before he flies off to start his own family. Thanks for taking the time to share your comments and for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

My husband and I have just recently returned from a 3 night stay at The Diving Pelican. What a great place to stay to finish off our 2 week vacation in Honduras. Michelle was very welcoming and hospitable and definitely made you feel at home. She has a wonderful ocean front bed and breakfast, with a very, very refreshing pool and of course a great bar area. She booked excursions for us to the canopy tours and hot springs, which were great fun, as well as to Cayos Cachinos so we could dive and snorkel. The beach in front of her place is wonderful to walk along, especially walking towards the sunset in the evening. Nobody is on this beach and you can walk for miles. We also enjoyed walking along the peaceful country road behind her place. The drinks made and served by the bar tender, Alex, were great, especially the pina coladas and margaritas, (made with freshly squeezed lime juice), and the food was awesome. Michelle has an 'honor system' beer fridge, which a person can get a beer or pop when the bar isn't open, or to pack a cooler full to take to the hot springs. I would highly recommend staying at the Diving Pelican. If in Honduras again, we would certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thanks for the review and recommending us to others. I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay here as well as the bar drinks and tours. We are very grateful to be in such a beautiful and peaceful location, and also grateful for all of the fantastic guests we have stay with us. I definitely hope you do return some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

My brother and I stayed at the Diving Pelican Inn for just two days but it was very evident that Michelle and Andrea take good care of their guests and the inn is really confortable and clean. We really enjoyed the thermal hot springs nearby as well as time spent with Donald birding in the area. Here are a few fitting adjectives: small, quiet, good food, great beach, refreshing pool, confortable room, great hosts, good birding, etc. The area is beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Hi guys, thanks for taking the time to write a review for us, it is really appreciated. We've had a couple more birders visit that enjoyed the area, and I keep listening for the little Pygmy owl outside our window. As per your suggestion, we will be getting a birding book for Donal so he can share the birds with others as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Diving Pelican. Michelle, Jay and Andrea were awesome hosts, who we feel lucky to have met. They truly made our stay memorable. Their knowledge of the area and helpfulness in arranging tours and outings was much appreciated. They have a lovely location on the beach, with very comfortable beds. The staff at Diving Pelican is also y helpful and accomodating and the food was delicious. We feel fortunate to have chosen this B&B and would highly recommend to anyone travelling in Honduras. We only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thanks so much for kind words, and feedback, everything is greatly appreciated. We also wish you would have stayed longer. It was quite nice sharing some conversation under the stars on the sundeck. Hopefully Spring has Sprung in Kelowna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

After almost 3 weeks on the road, we were thrilled to arrive at the Diving Pelican Inn. We were made to feel like family, or old friends, rather than paying guests. Michelle works tirelessly from sunrise till sundown. She’s always looking at ways to improve her very inviting and comfortable atmosphere. She organized a new kitchen during our stay. She has an extensive tasty menu, which she devised. She oversees her kitchen staff to ensure your meal is of the highest quality. I had a hard time moving beyond the coconut shrimp, they were so scrumptious. The prices are more than reasonable. Breakfast vouchers are supplied for two adjacent reataurants. Helen’s has the best coffee that we tasted in Belize, Guatemala or Honduras.

Happy Hour4-5PM daily draws in some very interesting expats with lots of stories to share. Alex, our favorite bar tender of all time, makes deadly pina coladas. Forget your waistline and go for it.

Michelle goes out of her way to organize whatever you would like to do. She has lots of connections in the area and wants to make sure your excursions are the best. We were lucky to meet her partner Jay while we were there, and so enjoyed his company on our trip to the hot springs. Just a 5 min excursion from the hotel, with pick up and drop off service. Included is what was the best, most professional massage of my life, all in a tropical jungle setting. Michelle truly needs to take a day off and go.

The king sized bed was very comfy and, with only a few rooms, we felt the inviting pool, waterfall setting was our own private space. Despite their warm personalities, the family respects your privacy. Right outside the gate is a deserted 6 km beach. On a 45 min walk, we encountered no one. It’s perfect for walking or running with hard packed sand. A 35 min boat ride away, you can be wisked away to Cayos Cochinas, truly a snorkelling paradise. A number of islands, one inhabited by 100 Garifuna, who grill you a delicious seafood dinner.

If the mountains and rainforest are your thing, they are a mere half hour drive away. Other travellers had seen toucans on a 30 min walk while we were there. Unfortunately, I was unable to enjoy this area to the fullest with the travel catching up with my digestive system.

Michelle took time out of her busy schedule to drive us different places. My experience with her daughter at the local school was an unforgettable experience. We have travelled extensively and have never stayed with such accommodating hosts. Thank You Michelle, Jay and Andrea for all that you do. We’re hopeful that you will make it to NS someday and Jay tries some fresh Digby scallops.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for your glowing review, you described our area so well I may need to steal some descriptions for my website:-) It was a wonderful experience having you both here, and your conversations with Andrea have made a big difference in how she views and does some things. If we ever visit Nova Scotia I guarantee we will visit you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diving Pelican Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diving Pelican Inn

Address: 250 yards East of Sambo Creek | Beside the Hotel Canadien, La Ceiba, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Luxurious and Intimate 3 room inn on the beach. With a beautiful pool, waterfall and large deck area. All rooms have air conditioning, TV, DVD player with access to hundreds of DVDs,private baths with hot water showers,fans, free purified water, purified ice, coffee pots and one has small kitchen. Beach chairs and towels provided. There is a very large out door area for relaxing with a fully stocked honor bar for exclusive use of our guests. You can also enjoy a tropical drink and 2 for 1 Happy Hour at our Barefoot Saloon. There are 3 restaurants within walking distance. From our inn you can take part in various exciting and relaxing tours, go for a dive trip or snorkeling at Cayos Cochina, take an exciting ride through the rain forest and relax afterwards in the rejuvenating thermal waters at the Sambo Creek Canopy Tour and Hot springs, or take a Kayak ride through the Cacao Lagoon and enjoy the monkeys and other wildlife you'll experience. We are here to be of service and making you a repeat guest is our one and only purpose. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Diving Pelican Inn Honduras/La Ceiba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diving Pelican Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.