We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel of the jungle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Km 9 Rio Cangrejal, La Ceiba, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 La Ceiba B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Jewel of the jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Gourmet cuisine, beautiful grounds, large comfortable rooms, fantastic service, totally up to par for an exquisite taste . At night the celba(jungle) hums with all the voices , while you can enjoy superb meal, not a la carte, but menu of the day . Karen has truly created a jungle paradise. Very impressed.

Room Tip: Room upstairs next to Karen's has a large patio balcony, but you will probably not want to spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
42
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Casa Cangrejal as a part of our honeymoon trip to Honduras.

The grounds are beautiful, being tucked away in the jungle, with a creek running behind the villa, and Karen has done a wonderful job of landscaping and using the local rock to create a rustic, yet elegant place with dunking pools and terraced areas in which to enjoy the natural beauty.

Our room was comfortable, spacious and unique, clean and quiet.

Karen is also knowledgeable about the area and helped us find our way to various hiking and water activities that the area is known for.

She is very warm and friendly. When she found out it was our honeymoon, we were gifted a nice bottle of wine. Sweet.

A different breakfast is served each day and the morning we stayed we were served shrimp omelets, homemade bread, fresh fruit and a variety of juices plus coffee of course. Very good.

We absolutely recommend staying at Casa Cangrejal and wish we had discovered it sooner so we could have stayed more nights there ourselves.

Room Tip: The room in front of the creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Fly into La Ceiba then take the drive up!

> Access: Easy but bouncy ride. The Casa Cangrejal & Eco Jungle Lounge utilize similar taxi transportation services. Call them and they'll figure it out.

> Service: Top notch. Both owners provide a superb welcoming atmosphere. Your comfortably free to roam and hang out where ever you want.

> Bldg: Granite-like multiple stone structure makes you feel secure and comfortable. The owners designed a breathtaking home out of stone here in the middle of the jungle. From the walls to the floor to the ceiling to the walk-ways, Nobles of yesteryear would have been extremely jealous as to the beauty of the design and comfort of Casa Cangrejal.

> Renting: Easy. Call or book on line.

> Cost: All inclusive so it is more than a value per night.

> Comfort: Could have slept all morning but was awaken for a morning hike. The bed was rested my tired limbs from all the traveling days prior.

> Bathrooms: Stone! Stone! and more Stone! This makes it easy to keep clean. Beautiful designs. Hot & cold water flows with ease.

> Food: Yum! Both the Madame & Monsieur relaxed vibe makes you feel at home so ... start grazing!

> Entertainment: Nice lounge area & bar. You have a choice in escaping to go hiking through the hills (or mountains) or rafting (so strap in). Many Europeans, Aussies, & Kiwis venture here for the rafting (check with Udo @ Omega Tours down the path).

> Security: Solid. Peaceful.

> Additional comments: This is both a good couples escape plus a team building locaYou have a choice in escaping to go hiking through the hills (or mountains) or rafting (so strap in).

Room Tip: You'll have to go out of your way but it is worth the drive. I plan to spend more time here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our stay with Karen and Alex was awesome....absolutely awesome. The food, drinks, and hospitality ways the best. I was concerned when I heard there was NO A/C.....you have to trust me, it was very very comfortable. We were there June 20-25th, 2013.
The B&B is beautiful and very comfortable. All of the employees were the best and you couldn't ask for anymore. Hiking with Alex was a blast and ...........The FOOD ....to die for!
Thank you
Karen and Alex for a great stay.....
The Zilly's
San Antonio, TX, Narragansett, RI, and Chagrin, OH.....
p.s. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: They are all great rooms......BEAUTIFUL
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This place is great!
Karen and Alex are amazing characters, with giant hearts! The two of them are too much fun.GO for a walk in the jungle with Alex, he will teach you so many things,
Just hang out with Karen, and listen to her advice, and let her cook for you, and pressure you into having another beer.
Oh and if you get a chance play Karen in pool you wont regret it . . . at all!
Each room and or building that you can possibly stay in is modern, comfortable beyond belief and the area around is like an enchanted forest.
Breakfast is with fresh, free range chickens that they raise up on the hill soo good! All the food is local and fresh,
and go on an adventure with their neighbours,

Room Tip: if you can stay in the farmhouse, top or bottom, both are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

After the whole day of the travel when we saw plenty of poverty and human discomfort we arrived to this hotel which looks unreal.The houses are almost brand new , very solid built, extremely comfortable and clean ,large in size. The entire hotel is set according to top level of any western known hotel . I was very pleased with the stay in this hotel, extremely warm welcome by Karen and Alex. Karen is also a very good cook. You will enjoy your stay there.

Room Tip: All rooms a very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was hands down the coolest place I've been to. My husband and I were there for a few days on our honeymoon, and it was so cool. The area and casa itself are both beautiful. Karen was a lot of fun, the food amazing, and the activities available from the lodge nearby were really cool. I can't give this place enough thumbs up, I really hope we can come back someday soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
0.0 mi away
The Lodge at Pico Bonito
The Lodge at Pico Bonito
#1 of 20 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
0.0 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#11 of 20 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Estadio
Hotel El Estadio
#5 of 20 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Villa de Soledad B&B
La Villa de Soledad B&B
#1 of 29 in La Ceiba
5.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel

Address: Km 9 Rio Cangrejal, La Ceiba, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is located in the rain forest just 20 min. outside La Ceiba; we border the Pico Bonito National Park. All our rooms have private bath and hot water and wireless internet connection. The house is built entirely out of river rock which keeps the rooms a fantastic cool temp (allowing us all to live comfortably without using air conditioning). The fresh water creek behind our house is a wonderful place to relax. There are an abundance of activities to keep you busy - rafting, kayaking, hiking, horseback riding, bird watching, canopy tours and lagoon tours. Breakfast is included and is international cuisine, fresh squeezed juices and fruit. We now have 2 fully furnished one bedroom apartments, located just a 5 min walk from the B&B on our Hobby farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel Honduras/La Ceiba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.