We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming classic old Hotel on the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bo. La Isla, Zona Viva | Between Ave. 15 de Sept. and Ave. Victor Hugo, La Ceiba, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in La Ceiba
utah
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Charming classic old Hotel on the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We travel to La Ceiba on a regular basis for quick overnight business stays. We enjoy our stay at the Quinta Real every time. The staff are really amazing, from the moment you emerge from your car, to the front desk, the dining room and pool side staff. Almost all speak some English. Many have gone out of their way to make us feel welcome and provide for our every need. The restaurant food is very good and provides a varied menu from pastas, beef, chicken, seafood. It's also available pool and beach side, as well as room service. The Hotel decor is classic, an older style, a little worn perhaps but lovely in it's own way. You can't beat the view of the sea - it's beautiful from the lobby and ocean side rooms, each with an enjoyable balcony. The beach is safe as it is patrolled regularly by hotel security. The beach like most Honduras beaches is not always well maintained, but the view and sunsets are amazing. The pool is nice also. The rooms are aging but clean. The beds are very comfortable, high quality mattresses, bedding, pillows etc. Each room has modern flat screen TVs and a good selection of cable programming. The internet is free of medium quality and available pretty much throughout the hotel, poolside, restaurant, lobby and even on the beach in some places. If you are interested in something on the beach with a lovely view - this is the best place for you!

Room Tip: Request poolside for a very enjoyable view and awake to the sound of waves outside your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    32
    21
    8
    14
See reviews for
21
21
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
373 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I came in from Livingston, Guatemala and this was the first hotel that my taxi took me to. I went inside and the front desk people spoke good English. The hotel is very beautiful from the outside and it is right on the beach. I tested the WiFi signal in the lobby and it was strong so I decided to get a room. The price is normally $95 US, but he gave me a 25% discount for some reason. I looked at three different rooms before choosing one because I was looking for a strong WiFi signal. Milton at the front desk was very patient with me. The room is beautiful, but the hotel has started to show its age. The room has a slight smell to it almost like grandma's old house mildew smell. It is hard to explain, but it is not so bad making me want to find another hotel. One of the closet doors came off of its hinges when I went to open it. The bathtub is very big, but the knob to change the water from shower head to bathtub faucet does not work. The room has great air conditioning, but the WiFi signal is up and down like a roller coaster. The WiFi was like this in all three rooms that I checked. The price of the room includes a buffet breakfast that was good. It had scrambled eggs, refried beans, sausage, three types of fresh fruit, toast, fresh juice and coffee. There might be better hotels for your money here, but I am not going to bother to check because I will leave for Roatan Island soon. The great thing that this hotel has going for itself is the staff. They are amazing and will do whatever they can to make your stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Do not get a room by the pool because they play music until past 10:00 PM and let people start swimm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Others wrote of food, the pool, the beach and the rooms - all good! I want to write about the staff - they are wonderful, helpful, kind and really tuned in to each guest from Milton in reception to Juan, the hotel taxi driver (always ask for him). My safety was always a top priority for all of the staff.

Many I will consider my "Amigo" forever and value the extra special things they did for me personally.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel is the top hotel of La Ceiba and you definitely pay for it. The rooms are nice. They have air conditioning and warm showers. Internet connection was spotty in the rooms, but great on the terrace near the pool. The staff seem a little uptight and not very friendly and the food is pricey. The included breakfast is very good though.
The hotel has lots of security so you feel very safe, but perhaps it is a little strange to have an armed man watching you enjoy the beach. The beach is very small but nice. It seems like the sand and rocks were probably brought in, but you get the resort feel since the beach is right next to the pool.
The location is great because it is right next to La Palapa which is a great sports bar, restaurant, and club. This does mean that at night the rooms facing La Palapa are not very peaceful and are pretty much bumping with the loud music during La Palapa club hours. We experienced this one night and asked to switch rooms which the staff happily did for us. It was much more peaceful on the ocean side of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Excellent service! Hotel staff very nice and friendly. Clean and spacious rooms. The pool area is very nice and they have a snack bar next to it. They have security guards all around the hotel. The restaurant serves delicious food and the wait staff is amazingly nice! Thumbs up to Gustavo, the chef. I would highly recommend it and I hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel was built very nicely and once upon a time was probably top notch. Now it is starting to show its age, and maybe doesn't have the occupancy rate needed to stay on top of maintenance. In the 3-night weekend I stayed there, I never once ran into another guest in the halls. There were maybe 2 or 3 families spotted in the pool area. Perhaps their mid-week convention business is what keeps them afloat? Anyway, a couple examples of lack of maintenance:
1.) elevator broken during my entire and no apparent attempts to repair it. Not a huge deal as only 3 floors.
2.) nice pool area, but tiles that have fallen off over the years haven't been replaced.

One reason I chose the hotel was due to its location in the "zona viva", the nightlife district of La Ceiba. I think a better nickname would be "zone muerta". Perhaps I was there the wrong time of year, but many of the businesses in the district were shuttered, and La Palapa, which is a nice place right next door to Quinta Real, was absolutely dead on a Friday night around midnight.
Beds were top quality and rooms clean, though also showing their age. No room safes, which is always a disappointment for me personally for safety reasons.

Room Tip: Rooms beach side are nice - crack the patio door open and listen to the gentle serenade of waves tum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location is excellent...right on the beach and next to La Palapa..a ver happening place with great food. The rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable. The hotel may be pricier than other properties in the area but for the room, the safety and convenience you are getting as far I'm concerned there is no better deal in La Ceiba.

I will return, definitely!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Ceiba
0.3 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
10.2 mi away
The Lodge at Pico Bonito
The Lodge at Pico Bonito
#1 of 20 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Hotel
La Quinta Hotel
#12 of 20 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#11 of 20 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#4 of 20 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Indura Beach And Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center

Address: Bo. La Isla, Zona Viva | Between Ave. 15 de Sept. and Ave. Victor Hugo, La Ceiba, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Real Hotel La Ceiba
Quinta Real Hotel And Convention Center Honduras/La Ceiba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.