We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting and physical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sambo Creek Canopy Tours & Spa

Sambo Creek Canopy Tours & Spa
La Ceiba, Honduras
504 3355-5481
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 things to do in La Ceiba
Attraction details
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exciting and physical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Zip-lining over the jungle feels fabulous. And it's only scary for the first two cables. After that, you just relax and enjoy.
The hot springs are especially welcome after the excitement of the zip-lines.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    2
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
La Ceiba, Atlantida, Honduras
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A unique setting for an unforgettable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife and I spent a few hours yesterday at the hot springs. The setting is absolutely spectacular, a crystal clear creek tumbling down the mountain creating natural pools surrounded by a dense tropical rain forest... Unique enough... now imagine it with natural hot waters from a nearby hot spring! If this is not enough, the service includes a massage, and some volcanic mud bath to cleanse your skin. The premises also has a zip line canopy tour with a total of 18 cables, and although we did no it, the friends that we with us did, and they had the time of their lives! IF you visit La Ceiba, make sure that you have time to visit the hot springs, they are truly a unique experience!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Even better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This excursion came recommended by Karen at Casa Cangrejal, and we are thrilled that it was the one we chose to do. From the moment the guys came to pick us up, we felt like we were hanging with friends. Not only did they make sure to explain everything (about our ziplining) clearly and made sure we felt comfortable, but they also took copious pictures and videos of us zipping across the canopy to help us record our adventure. When the zipping was done, we headed to the hot springs (over which we had soared in the canopy), and gave us freshly cut fruit to help us rejuvenate from our adventure (not that it was tiring). To our surprise, a massage was included in the price of the trip AND volcanic mud treatment. We passed up on the mud, but the massage was nice and a great surprise. On the ride home, one of the guides made a point to point out different flora and fauna as we rode along. I truly felt like this tour started the second we stepped out our door and didn't end until we returned. Exceptional.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible FUN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I couldn't have imagined a more beautiful and fun adventure! Anyone can do this, even if you're scared of heights because the views and fun override any fear you may have. There are 18 cables and the guides seriously love their job so they make it half the fun and will tether you to themselves if needed. No worries, Ronald speaks fluent english and the other guides know enough to get around.

You drive up to the top and see an amazing view of the beach. If it's a clear day you can see the islands of Cayos Cochinos or Roatan on a great day. It's pure beauty. You'll zip through the forest seeing waterfalls, all types of green plants, humongous trees, while enjoying being flown through Pico Bonito on a zipline.

After the adventure, you can swim in colder water or soak in hot springs while eating freshly cut fruit and receibing a mudbath. We didn't expect any of this since it was a last minute decision so we were thrilled! If had rained the whole weekend and little during our ziplining, but it was all worth it.

Perks: Guides are great, take tons of pictures, and will cater the zipping to each person's style. It's also in a wonderful location to hit up the beach in Sambo Creek. Enjoy Honduras zipping!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend a half day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nice excursion. Started with the canopy tour, which includes about 8 to 10 zip line cables with good views of mountain and ocean. Super friendly guides that take lots of pictures with your camera for you. Then you go to the thermal baths formed from joining the cold mountain stream with the natural hot springs, receive a short but nice open air jungle massage, and then a mud bath.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sambo Creek Canopy Tours & Spa also viewed

La Ceiba, Atlantida Department
La Ceiba, Atlantida Department
 
La Ceiba, Atlantida Department
La Ceiba, Atlantida Department
 

Been to Sambo Creek Canopy Tours & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sambo Creek Canopy Tours & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.