We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Pico Bonito

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Pico Bonito to your Saves list
The Lodge at Pico Bonito
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   AP 710, La Ceiba 31101, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in La Ceiba
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pure luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Quiet, breathtaking, and a ton of fun. Perfect for one night as you hop over to Roatan or Utila, but you could easily spend a week.

It's extremely quiet during rainy season. We were the only guests there on the massive grounds.

The service is awesome. I would definitely check out the hike in the back of the grounds. They were extremely accommodating in picking us up from the SPS bus station as we crossed the border from Guatemala.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    44
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
121
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

i stayed here just for a night. but if i have a vacation, i would stay for a week or more.
...
before i arrive, i've worried about the location. because i couldn't find the hotel location on Google map. (it registered a wrong location on google)
but the reception send me a mail about the map with a comment.
i could find the location easily with the comment.
...
I got a very friendly welcome from all the staff...with Welcome Cocktail.
and they are helpful.
...
everything is very comfortable....and cozy...
the room was very clean and i could feel some 'naturaleza'...with fresh air.
i needed to turn on the air conditioner to control the humidity of the room.
...
The Restaurant!! is very nice.
but i don't recommend the steak with A sauce (coffee and wine something...)
comida de pollo y vegetales...those were good.
and jugo de naranja, toronja...was excellent!!
and the bar is very comfortable to drink something.
...
in the morning, there is a free hiking guide. (also Night Hiking at night)
it was very interesting and beautiful...and the course is a little stiff.
I recommend 'towel, swimsuit, a bottle of water and camera'.
...
the lodge at pico bonito is really great to feel free, refresh and mental healing.
...
and don't miss the chance to go to the Butterfly Museum in the city La Ceiba!!

Room Tip: to control the humidity in the room, turn on the air conditioner frequently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle East
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was an amazing hotel. Rustic setting but luxurious. And the nature trails around the park and tours were exceptional! Staff is amazing! My only critique was the restaurant is extremely expensive for Honduran standards. The cheapest entrees were $18 and they go up to the 30-40+ range. For those prices, you're better off renting a car and going to La Ceiba to have real Honduran food.

Room Tip: We didn't have AC and were fine, but it was Sept and cool at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have visited this property twice and will return again in March. This is a five star resort in the middle of the rainforest...not what one would expect in Honduras. The service is over the top excellent. Be sure to take an excursion with Elmer. He is so knowledgeable about the birds and other wildlife. One of my favorite things to do here is swim in one of the two rivers that border the property. The water is clear and cold and you will look up to see the canopy above you. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I just returned from a trip to Honduras with my wife and four friends. After a week of diving on Cayos Cochinos we were looking for a little pampering and bird watching so we spent four days at The Lodge at Pico Bonito.

The Lodge is just outside La Ceiba but worlds away. We were there in early September so the birding was not at its best but we still saw keel-billed toucands, collared aracari, lovely cotingas, and a host of other glory birds. We are experienced birders but nevertheless we paid for several trips with a local guide, Jose and he could spot amazing things. Take the early morning bird tour and the tour to the coastal mangrove forest. Down there we saw crocodiles, howler and white-face monkeys, bats, several heron species and lots more.

The Lodge is not inexpensive but we found it worth the price. A couple pieces of advice. Ask for an upgraded cabin so that you get air conditioning. It is the tropics. Also the wifi did not reach our cabins, # 9 and 10 but they are the furthest from the main buildings.

Honduras has a reputation as a very violent place and one must be careful in La Ceiba. Nevertheless the Lodge at Pico Bonito had guards on the grounds at all times and we never felt unsafe.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Lodge at Pico Bonito is a stunning well-maintained resort for those who appreciate nature and indulgence combined. A mere 20 minute car journey from La Ceiba Airport, it is a convenient hide-a-way for those looking for peace and serenity. From start to finish I was well looked after and my every desire catered for by their amiable and efficient staff. From collection at the Airport, my private tours of the loop trails, butterfly and serpent enclosures, nature reserve parks and waterfalls I was impressed at both their attention to detail and personal touches that the staff afforded me. Being a solo traveller, service is at the utmost importance, and I felt that the staff at Pico Bonito lodge went above and beyond expectation. The Lodge itself offers a variety of activities for both the adventure-lover and the leisure-lover alike; whether it's hiking and white-water rafting your into, or just reading a book and an after lunch massage the lodge will attend to your agenda. The cabin I stayed in (Standard) was fully equipped with two double beds, an outside deck with hammock, coffee-machine, hot water/well-pressured shower, hairdryer, American-standard sockets, phone for calling reception, Ipod docking station, alarm clock, towels, dressing gowns, A.K.A all the amenities of home. The included breakfast menu was both healthy and delicious.. but the real winner was their cafetiere brewed coffee, which I indulged in without fail every morning. During the final day of my stay I opted to go hiking (with guide) to "Unbelievable falls" being somewhat of a hiking novice I would advise that this particular trail is not for the faint hearted, and that if you are a beginner the Loop Trails are probably your safer bet. One other suggestion for the management team at Pico Bonito would be in regard to their Spa services, perhaps you could expand on this; so as well as massages,you could offer facials, manicures and pedicures. That being said, I cannot say enough about this captivating resort; the flora and fauna were stunning and the variety of birdlife was overflowing. Pico Bonito is truly a gem of a place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

It was 5:45 am, and we were at the Lodge's restaurant for our 6:00 bird hike. Before we left, the restaurant staff brought out juice, fruit, small pastries. Which was nice, but the most remarkable detail was the coffee--freshly brewed in a French press, served at not the piping hot temperature where you have to let it cool off, but perfect for drinking right away. And with it they served a small container of milk, heated to the exact same temperature as the coffee so that it wouldn't cool it off.

That kind of attention to detail and service is what makes the Lodge such a special place (in addition to the access to nature it provides, of course!)

Our room was a cabin with a four-poster king-sized bed and an air conditioner we had the option of using (we never did). It pulled off the blend between luxury and rustic quite well--sacrificing no comfort while being appropriate to the rainforest setting. The cabins aren't terribly far apart from each other, but the forest surrounding you is so dense and lush that you can't see anyone else from your cabin and feel like you have complete privacy.

The Lodge is adjacent to Pico Bonito National Park, and just about everywhere you go, you get the backdrop of the magnificent mountains in the background, completely covered in lush jungle and cloud forest. It's bounded by two lovely rivers, and there are trails to multiple swimming holes and waterfalls. And in the middle of all that is the Lodge, which provides extraordinary service and relaxation in the midst of that wilderness. In addition to the hiking and relaxation, there's also a restaurant and bar with plenty of room to just hang out and relax, including a lovely deck over a river that you can reserve for a special romantic dinner. The restaurant staff

The restaurant staff provided excellent service, and the food was very good at all times. If you have any food/scheduling issues (need breakfast early before leaving on a tour, want to have something special made, want to eat dinner from the lunch menu) they will be more than happy to make things work for you.

And, yes, the hype about this being a 'birder's paradise' is true, even if you go in the 'low' season as we did. During our five night stay we saw dozens and dozens of species of spectacular birds--toucans, trogons, parrots, hummingbirds, owls and yes both the Lovely Cotinga and the Keel-Billed Motmot. The two excellent bird guides Jose P and Elmer kept on apologizing for what they felt was the lack of birds--they begged us to come back some time in the 'high season' when they said it was really good birding. We very well may do so.

Special note for birders: be sure to do the Rio Santiago Tour one morning--hummingbirds like nothing I've ever seen, and this is where we saw the Keel-Billed Motmot.

Room Tip: It is very humid, so if that really bothers you there are some rooms that have air conditioning. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Ceiba
10.4 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
10.2 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
0.0 mi away
Indura Beach And Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#4 of 20 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
9.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#11 of 20 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Rainbow Village
Hotel Rainbow Village
#2 of 20 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Pico Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Pico Bonito

Address: AP 710, La Ceiba 31101, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Pico Bonito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the Pico Bonito National Park, The Lodge at Pico Bonito seamlessly combines nature and luxurious comfort. The luxury eco-lodge located on the Caribbean coast of Honduras near La Ceiba is a member ofSmall Luxury Hotels of the World. The Lodge offers the adventure of the outdoors, the beauty of the rainforest, and the personal service and luxury of a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge at Pico Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Pico Bonito Hotel La Ceiba
Hotel At Pico Bonito
At Pico Bonito Hotel
The Lodge At Pico Bonito Honduras/La Ceiba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Pico Bonito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.