We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth the trip up the mountain.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Pico Bonito

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Pico Bonito to your Saves list
The Lodge at Pico Bonito
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   AP 710, La Ceiba 31101, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in La Ceiba
Inman, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well Worth the trip up the mountain.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed there a few nights in December. Reccomend a high ground clearance vehicle or taking a Taxi. The staff was very friendly and it was a very good value. The staff were very freindly and helpful. Food and beverages excellent. They could use a little better signage to get there. Extemely relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Picobonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    44
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
119
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We are seasoned travelers having been at many wonderful places but the Lodge at Pico Bonito is one of our most memorable experiences. The accomodations are first class with a staff that is gracious and attentive to your every need. The expertise of the guides is A+ along with their limitless desire to help you find the "bird" or have the perfect experience with the wonders of nature.. And despite all the worries of family and friends about potential danger in Honduras, we felt entirely safe throughout our journey. D & D in Dallas

Room Tip: All cabins are lovely. We had air conditioning to use in the evening but it is certainly not necess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Picobonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

A great introduction to neotropical birding in the kindest and most luxurious way. Read that as an air conditioned cabin and a great bird guide. Also note - abundant and good food, a swimming pool, a bar, additional offers to go see the ruins at Copan, go snorkeling on a pristine nearby reef, travel on a funky train to a boat trip on a mangrove lagoon for more birds and great scenery. Don't miss a chance to take in the beach shack lunch at the Garifuna community smack dab on the turquoise Carribean. Even my first-time-to-the-jungle birder liked it.

Room Tip: If you don't like walking, ask for a room close to the lodge; if you want privacy, ask for a mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Picobonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Lodge at Pico Bonito. We were treated so well by Howard, Orlando and Mario in the restaurant. We planned a special romantic dinner that got rained out, but we still got some nice pictures of the setting that they prepared for us. The last day it rained, so we spent the day lazing around and listening to the sound of the rain in the trees. We saw tons of humming birds, toucan and a little rodent called an agouti. We did some hiking, but it was mostly time to spend together and enjoy being out of "civilization". You can do day trips to Tela or La Ceiba without too much trouble if you have a rental car - as we did. No problems driving all over northern Honduras on this trip (we both speak a little Spanish). We also bought Honduras maps for our GPS which we brought along. This was very helpful.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the AC in January.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Picobonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Lodge is truly an ecological experience. With the butterfly museum and snake museum, along with the beautiful nature trails, one gets that close to nature feel. The Lodge's architecture blends into the natural environment. Great people and lodging along with a wonderful restaurant where service is superior.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Picobonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

my wife and i booked the above package with the lodge at pico bonito last month.
we could not have been more pleased. a wonderful way to see and experience
the country, its history, and people. all with a beautiful and luxurious lodge as a base.
the lodge offers an extraordinary variety of experiences for those who wish; for those who don't,
i can't imagine a better place to simply "sit and stare".

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Picobonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Just returned from a 4 day stay, and loved every minute at this amazing and beautiful place in the world. We are Americans, and we were sadly worried by the US State Department Travel Warning for Honduras that came out just as we booked....having never been to Honduras we had some reservations about going. Upon return, I can confidently say, we had NOTHING to worry about at the Lodge at Pico Bonito, (nor during any part of our vacation in Honduras). We were so well cared for, and all the staff could not have been nicer! Professional, but, also "real" and "down to earth"; we had many conversations and discussions with staff on the kind of personal level that makes traveling so rewarding. We booked on 'Cyber Monday" and received a wonderful deal - we arrived by ferry after flying into Roatan, and then were met (with advance preparation via email) at the ferry for pick up by a warm, caring, careful driver (Lima) who drove us through Ceiba to the Lodge. The ferry was safe, fast, and clean, with security (including bag and personal screening) and we had no worries. At baggage claim, we were promptly met by our driver. We had fun on the drive through La Ceiba practicing our (quite terrible) Spanish, and felt we were in competent hands with our driver. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a Rum Punch Welcome drink, and then shown to our cabin in the jungle. The cabins are beautiful, just as pictured on the website, with 2 comfy beds, luxurious details, and amazing shower, and a hammock on a porch looking out at the beautiful and intriguing jungle. Our cabin overlooked a pristine jungle river. Safety was assured at every moment,and we felt very safe walking the grounds day and night. We swam in the pool, and hiked, and relaxed. Our hikes with guide Jose were amazing - the naturalist guides are well-trained, highly educated in the local scenery and flora and fauna. Jose was outstanding. We may have been the only "non-birders" in attendance during our recent stay in January, but, we had much fun meeting with and discussing the exploits of some 'serious' birders. (I often felt I was on the set of the movie "The Big Year") Our wait staff was friendly, and professional and truly 5 star!!! Carlos for breakfast, Danilo for dinner and drinks, and Gerrel were so nice, we felt pampered but at the same time we were able to have interesting and fun conversations and got to know the staff as people, not just 'waitstaff'. This is the bonus of staying at a small lodge, where you take every meal at the beautiful restaurant. That said - prices at the restaurant are a bit high for what you get. Like other reviewers we felt the food could be graded as a B. Not A, and not D, just solid (but at times boring B). We wished there were more 'local' Honduran options and not so much emphasis on pleasing a European or American palate. The exception is breakfast which is TOP NOTCH. Breakfast is Included with the room price, it's a wonderful deal, as you can order anything at all from the menu. Be sure to visit the snake house, butterfly house and iguana house! Be ready for adventure with outings! Words cannot describe the beauty of the national park - though know that this is not a 'US' park with scenic drives and easy hikes... to see the true splendor, you need to be in good hiking shape - or average - and will be well rewarded!! If you are thinking of Pico Bonito: GO! Hondurans are friendly, and lovely and the country is so beautiful. Safety precautions apply as with any area for general travel, but, at Pico Bonito, we were safe and well cared for. It is an unforgettable luxury experience!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Every room is spectacular!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Picobonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Ceiba
10.4 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
10.2 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
0.0 mi away
Indura Beach And Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#4 of 20 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
9.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 20 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Rainbow Village
Hotel Rainbow Village
#2 of 20 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Pico Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Pico Bonito

Address: AP 710, La Ceiba 31101, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Pico Bonito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the Pico Bonito National Park, The Lodge at Pico Bonito seamlessly combines nature and luxurious comfort. The luxury eco-lodge located on the Caribbean coast of Honduras near La Ceiba is a member ofSmall Luxury Hotels of the World. The Lodge offers the adventure of the outdoors, the beauty of the rainforest, and the personal service and luxury of a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge at Pico Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Pico Bonito Hotel La Ceiba
Hotel At Pico Bonito
At Pico Bonito Hotel
The Lodge At Pico Bonito Honduras/La Ceiba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Pico Bonito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.