We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Cascadas Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Ceiba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Cascadas Lodge
Save
You added Las Cascadas Lodge to your Saves list
Km. 6, Carretera de La Ceiba a Yaruca, La Ceiba 31101, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fantastic resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I spent one week in Las Cascadas Lodge, Honduras, in March, 2013. Las Cascadas Lodge is a very impressive resort with beautiful accommodations, and fantastic and peaceful surroundings. We stayed in a lodge facing the cascades. The interior of the lodge was rustic, clean and nicely decorated, with an outstanding rock bathtub and outdoor showers. The food and the service are simply outstanding. Every day, we were given choices and were able to make special requests. We had the opportunity to sample local meals and also enjoy pastas, steak and rice dishes. We had our meals in our own lodge as well as in the main lodge (which also has a bar), and by nearby falls. The lodge is situated nearby a large national park with pristine wilderness. We had the opportunity to trek through the park and visit 60-m high falls. Our guide was attentive and knowledgeable. Our hosts (Ryan and Maggie) went out of their way to accommodate our needs with a visit to the local villages and the Sewing Cooperative, night safaris, and more. Our visit to the Honduras was an exceptional experience and we strongly recommend the Las Cascadas Lodge to nature lovers who enjoy good meals and peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
65
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Thanks to Ryan, Maggie and Olvin for a wonderful couple of days in this beautiful spot in the one of the national parks near Pico Bonito. I couldn't recommend it highly enough. The whole place is amazing and well worth the trip if you happen to be in the area. There is plenty to do in terms of being out in the park and on the river and you will be fed to the highest degree by Olvin who is a really excellent chef.

Its brilliant value and we will be back.

Cheers,

Podge and Anita

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazan, Honduras
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My friend and I wanted to get away for Semana Santa but wanted to avoid the crowded beach scene. We were lucky enough to stumble upon this gem of a lodge near Pico Bonito. Even though it rained most of the entire 3 days we were here, Ryan, Maggie and Olvin made sure we had a great experience.

First of all, the facilities are wonderful. It is small with only a cabin and two suites attached to the main lodge, but that was one of the features we liked the best. We stayed in the suites which have a wonderful view of the "lower waterfall". The screened in sitting area allows you to hear the sound of the falls all night which just puts you to sleep. Since we occupied both of the suits, at night we had the lobby to ourselves. The experience was more like staying in a luxury vacation house than a lodge, with access to the kitchen and other facilities. Ryan and his staff made sure we knew we could make ourselves at home. The grounds have 3 waterfalls. The lower falls are next to the lodge. The middle falls are only a two minute walk from the lodge with an area for swimming and relaxing. The beautiful, and bigger, upper falls are a 20 minute hike on a well kept trail. Absolutely breathtaking.

The staff was wonderful. Olvin prepared food that could be served in any fine dining establishment. Prepared to order on the schedule we requested. In addition to being an excellent cook, he was also our guide on our hike to the grand waterfall in Pico Bonito National Park. The area experienced some of the worst storms in decades and we were the first to traverse the trail after the storms. Olvin happily and efficiently cleared the path with his machete so that we could experience the hike in the limited time we had available. Ryan is very knowledgable of the area and provided us with a scenic tour.

There are plenty of activities in the area that we were unable to do because of the limited amount of time we had and the weather. The weather caused some problems, but all were handled quickly and Ryan and his staff worked to make this one of our best experiences. It is a great place just to lay back and relax.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I just spent a weekend in Honduras and stayed at Las Cascadas Lodge.
It was fantastic. Issac (Ryan), Maggie & their staff took such good care of us & nothing was too much trouble. They prepare meals of your choice, show you around the area and organise rafting, hiking, yoga, massage etc if you want all that, or just leave you in peace to relax and take in the beautiful gardens and waterfall if that's your preference. Its like a little piece of paradise.
The lodge itself is just beautiful. I would suggest asking for the cabin if its available. Although all the rooms are lovely and they only take a max of 7 guests anyway, the cabin stands alone so if you just want time to yourself its all yours. All the rooms overlook the waterfall & river and are simply screened in so its practically at the foot of your bed. I woke up on Sunday morning and just sat in bed watching a humming bird flutter from flower to flower. I've never seen anything like it. Plus, I love the sound of running water at night so just being able to listen to the waterfall and river was so relaxing. We both think we probably had the best sleep we've had in years. The hot "outdoor" shower is amazing too. Just looking up at the trees and hearing all the birds singing - bliss.
We did the rafting trip which was fantastic. I was a bit nervous setting out but Ryan really knows what he was doing and is very careful to make sure everyone is capable before you set off.
The trek up to the waterfall was our favourite. We took the more challenging route which literally had us wading across the river at waist height and climbing rocky embankments. It was so worth it to get to the best spot to view the waterfall and have a swim in the pool at the bottom. We like getting stuck in and dirty anyway. What an amazing morning out followed by a great thai massage - the perfect day!. Our only disappointment was that we couldn't stay longer as with so much to do we barely had a chance to just kick back and relax. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Las Cascadas for a long weekend in March 2013. Everything about our stay was wonderful, and I mean everything. Ryan, Maggie, Olvin and the rest of the staff go out of their way to make your stay special. The lodge is nestled under a canopy of trees next to a waterfall, it is a gorgeous setting paired with a beautiful lodge and warm friendly staff. Olvin cooked up a storm for every meal... It's true... His hot sauce is as good as they say.

Las Cascadas is the perfect mix of adventure and luxury. It is a short hop away from Cayman making it a perfect long weekend destination. If you are lucky enough to have more time, there are plenty of activities to keep you entertained. We highly recommend a stay at the lodge and will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

las cascadas is too beautiful, too relaxing, too much paradise to be true. the surrounding waterfalls w pools to swim in that drown out all other non-organic noise lulling one to sleep, the tropical flowers dripping over every surface of one's room, the simple and delicious meals served on the guest's schedule, and the kindness and attention of every staff member at las cascadas is almost too much. we are a "bare bones" (read: cheap) kind of travel couple and decided to live it up at las cascadas for a few nights. i didn't want to leave. i would have stayed if we could. and stayed and stayed and stayed. we did a lot of nothing (hiking to the 60 foot waterfall nearby, climbing the 13 minutes another waterfall on the lodge property, climbing the 30 seconds to another waterfall on the property, laying in hammocks and reading, eating, eating, and eating, drinking yummy drinks, watching for birds, and enjoying the crashing of the waterfall right outside our room) and it was the best vacation ever. the hot water and yummy shower were amazing, the firm bed was perfect, the fresh juices and warm coconut dinner rolls were delightful and every other detail was just right on. i will splurge to go to las cascadas at any possible chance i get. thank you ryan, maggie, olvin, and all of the other wonderful staff. we really appreciate your role in helping us relax! and we appreciate your locally sourcing as much as you can at the lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver,
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Wonderful property and great service from Ryan and Maggie. Only 2 rooms in main building and 1 bungalow so even "full" it will be quiet and we had it all to ourselves during our stay. Certainly one of the nicest places we've stayed. Aptly named the falls are the high light - the hike to upper falls a real delight. We also did the river trip (raft & kayak) and it was wonderful - clear green water dropping between granite boulders. The guides are excellent.

Room Tip: Go for the bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
6.9 mi away
The Lodge at Pico Bonito
The Lodge at Pico Bonito
#1 of 20 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
3.1 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#4 of 20 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
3.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 20 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Hotel
La Quinta Hotel
#11 of 20 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Cascadas Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cascadas Lodge

Address: Km. 6, Carretera de La Ceiba a Yaruca, La Ceiba 31101, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Cascadas Lodge/Hotel at Pico Bonito is the only private lodge in the area and specializes in couples seeking romance and relaxation as well as friends visiting in Honduras/the Bay Islands and small groups. All of your meals, snacks, and desserts are included in the nightly rate. We have a private chef who specializes in great steaks, local seafood, curries, pastas, and Honduran cuisine! The food is fantastic and we use the freshest ingredients available and cater to our guests specific desires and to any of their dietary restrictions. Guests are set up below waterfalls and by candle light to wine and dine! The sound of falling water is always in the background and each suite/cabin has its own private veranda facing the lower waterfall! Las Cascadas Lodge has just a few rooms and therefore excellent individualized service. We plan activities for guests if desired like rafting, horseback riding, hiking, scenic tours, canopy/zipline tours and more. Our attention is focused on all of details of your stay The lodge is famous for the natural swimming pools below the 5 falls and having all amenities and comforts in an extremely exotic and beautiful place! If you are looking for a blend of adventure and relaxation or just some time in an incredible spot to unwind and be catered to the lodge is just the ticket!We would love to host your stay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Cascadas Hotel La Ceiba
Las Cascadas Lodge Honduras/La Ceiba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Cascadas Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.