We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniverary Date Here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Pico Bonito

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villas Pico Bonito to your Saves list
Villas Pico Bonito
Km 7.5 Carretera de Yaruca | Rio Cangrejal, La Ceiba, Honduras   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Tuscola, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Anniverary Date Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here for our 5th wedding anniversay in the Ceiba Tree Lodge. We had it all to ourselves. The place is beautiful, peaceful and relaxing. Our room was gorgeous and very "tropical." The brought us a candlelight dinner with fresh flowers, champagne, steak and the works up to our balcony and waited on us hand and foot for our anniversary night dinner. It was awesome. Anna and Lettie were terrific! It is a beautiful place to stay, and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ceiba Tree Lodge has two rooms - one on each side. But the view of the infinity pool, gardens and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, General Manager at Villas Pico Bonito, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thanks for the review. We do like to arrange special events for people. Generally we do not charge extra for these services. It is nice when we get a review thanking us for the work we do to keep our guests happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
66
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just returned from 2 nights at Villas Pico Bonito.  This place is phenomenal.  The entire staff was friendly and accommodating.  The check in was hassle free. We arrived and were taken straight to the room.   It's hard to please everyone all of the time but the 4 in our group were entirely satisfied with all aspects of our stay. The meals served were delicious.  The property was beautiful and immaculate.  Welder, Anna and Leti went above and beyond to make our stay pleasant.  Our only regret now is we wish we would have booked longer.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and we loved this place. The owner Richard is a sweet gentlemen, always very attentive and helpful!
The staff is wonderful, Letizia, Wilder and Eda are great people that make your stay incredible! The dogs are delightful to play with, the birds are a pleasure to listen to in the morning.
The views of the surrounding forest and of the waterfall are breathtaking.
We had a great time here, we felt spoiled but we also have been very respected our privacy.
WE DO HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE.
Thank you again Richard for the great time!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room near the river. The Colibri and the Casita are very close to the road and you can hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Yesterday evening, as the sun set and after a hot days travel, we relaxed floating in an infinity pool with the the boulder strew river below filling our ears with the sound of rushing water. With the sweet, heady, pungent smell of flowers in our nostrils we looked out over the thick jungle clad mountains soaring overhead while the fire flies danced in the garden and the stars burned overhead.
In the night there was heavy rain with frogs sounding like geese and thousands of insects singing.This morning the air was cool, clear and fresh with the mist, rising from the forest evaporating as the morning warmed. There were dozens of toucans flitting from tree to tree, humming birds feeding from flowers in the garden and below the swollen river roared while white herons fished in the shallows.
At dusk we went down to the river to watch the fireflies dancing along the river bank. MAGIC. The scene took my breath away, the dark looming mountains at two levels towering over us and to the north a huge limestone cliff fell tangled up in misty clouds. In front was another limestone cliff five hundred meters high trees and vines clinging precariously in places to the sheer cliff face. A waterfall graced the west side flowing now with the heavy rains.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This place is a hidden paradise! As mentioned you are away from the town, but that's kind of the point.
The staff were fantastic, really accommodating and helpful. The food is nice and simple. Nothing to blow you away mind.
The garden, pool and setting are fantastic with some really nice walks near by.
You can get some adventures going rock jumping, white water rafting is a must, mountain biking etc...
If you are looking for a relaxing long weekend, you will not find a better place. And yes, there are bugs!! Apparently only when it rains...but be prepared!

Room Tip: The road can get some big trucks at night, which are loud! Closer to the river is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, General Manager at Villas Pico Bonito, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks for the 5 star rating. Yes it is true the Casita and the Colibri are close to the road and consequently are priced accordingly. The traffic is mostly going to work, a few delivery vehicles and buses during the day and then coming home from work. Basically at night it is rare to hear anything on the road. Traffic picks up around 5.30 to 6 am when it gets light and around 4 pm for an hour or so.
Regards and thanks
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Things you should know - It is far away from the main town, anything you want to use, or eat you should buy before you head over to Villas Pico Bonito. There is no mini bar and the restaurant isn't always open so take snacks!!!!

The good - OMG this place is gorgeous. You are far away from everything, and the locale is beautifully kept up. You feel like you stepped into a beautiful peaceful jungle. The infinity pool is a definite plus, with a breathtaking view. The rooms are very clean. Richard the owner is very very nice and likes to talk to the guests which makes it feel homey. Prices are great. There is internet at the pool which is nice, however it did not reach our room which was a bummer. I believe that if you are in some of the bigger cabins you get internet however.

The bad - We drove in from the main city Ceiba and did not realize how far the lodge is. There are no signs ANYWHERE indicating that you are going in the right direction. So be aware, you will be driving for quite a while on unpaved roads. Once we got to the locale, we were told that the restaurant wasn't open, so do yourself a favor and find out is the restaurant is going to be open. If not bring food!!!!! There is a restaurant about 2 miles out which had good food so it wasn't the end of the world.

Side point- Be aware that there are also a lot of bugs around.This is due to the fact that you are in the MIDDLE OF THE JUNGLE lol. While you are sleeping you will hear geccos and you will also hear the river. We did the hike of the Pico Bonito mountain. I am a wimp, and it took us about 5 1/2 hours round trip, though they say you can do it in 3 hours. The hike is nice though a little repetitive, and the waterfall at the top is nothing mind blowing. Normally you cant get under the waterfall unless you are willing to climb some very slippery rocks, which I did, however i earned a lot of bruises doing so.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A, General Manager at Villas Pico Bonito, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks for your four star rating, you were very very kind. I know you did not mention it but what with the hot water problem I don't think we deserved it. My mistake installing the wrong wattage when repairing the shower!
Yes the lodge is outside La Ceiba and in its own special place in the Jungle. It is 4.6 miles or 7.5 Kms up a winding dirt road that follows the river. The cost to get a taxi depends on where you are coming from but $15 / $40 should cover it.
Once here we have a restaurant that is open Wednesday through Sunday. I have to give Leti, Wilder and Ana a couple of days off each week.
In many instances I will take guests up to Omega's restaurant for dinner when we are closed or if I am off down town will give guests a ride there to shop.
We are a vacation rental resort and the lodges all have kitchens, many people bring their own food and prepare their own meals. This is a big plus to many of our guests.
We offer a pick up service that will include a shop stop at the super if the guest wants. Even if you get a taxi they are usually willing to stop for a little while while you buy supplies.
To my future guests, please check the web site and especially the blog, pages section, which has all the latest and greatest about Villas Pico Bonito, all kinds of great information there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I am handicapped and I got the most considerate care and friendliest people in Honduras here. Richard (the owner) put me in "The Casita" as it was easy to get to the pool and restaurant (no stairs). The food was great and the grounds were amazing. Flowers of all kinds and you can hear the birds! The pool is amazing looking over the river and a great
experience in a rain storm ! All the other guests loved this place too.
Upon leaving Richard the owner took me to a few bus stations until he found the right bus line! Upon arrival his helper, Orlando, picked me up at the Roatan Ferry with his sign it was easy to see. If you fly to Roatan Island or San Pedro Sula this is a great rain forest experience!! I even ran
into the restaurant manager all the way up in Copan Ruins (she was on vacation in the northern part of Honduras ) She and her family are great !
I highly recommend the Villas at Pico Bonito (not to be confused with the Lodge with a similar same) !

Room Tip: Each Villa is unique! You can see them all on an easy to view website !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Pico Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Pico Bonito

Address: Km 7.5 Carretera de Yaruca | Rio Cangrejal, La Ceiba, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Pico Bonito, Jungle Eco-Resort situated on the most beautiful part of the Rio Cangrejal, in the awesome Pico Bonito National Park, with spectacular vistas of jungle covered cliffs, opposite the largest waterfall on the river, El Bejuco. Villas Pico Bonito offers self catered homes with full kitchens, nicely appointed rooms and comfortable beds. Welcome to our Hidden Paradise in the jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villas Pico Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Pico Bonito Hotel La Ceiba
Villas Pico Bonito Honduras/La Ceiba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Pico Bonito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.