We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of the trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Ceiba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge
Save
You added Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
carretera a Yaruca km 9.5 Rio Cangrejal, La Ceiba ----, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Night!
Ranked #3 of 29 La Ceiba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mobile AL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Highlight of the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in the creek cabin. The first day we took the waterfall hike in Pico Bonito and the next day we rode horses through the jungle and local villages. The lodge and grounds were beautiful and well maintained. The staff provided excellent friendly service and made you feel right at home. We had a great time with all of them and many laughs with our limited Spanish and their willingness to be the best hosts no matter what. We will think of Udo, Sylvia, Helen, Miguel Alahondro (forgive spelling) and the rest of the staff often. The food was awesome and portions were generous. The evening meals were very relaxing and the picnics we took on our tours were prepared on homemade bread. On the hike our guide brought along a fresh pineapple to eat as we sat in the mist of the waterfall. It was a unique experience to sit in this peaceful spot and share this wonderful picnic. The horseback riding was one of the best vacation activities I've ever had. Our guides Helen and Miguel made sure we were safe and comfortable while making it challenging enough to keep the trip exciting. They were great guides and made us feel more like friends than customers. Don't miss this place if you are traveling in the area.

Room Tip: The creek cabin was a great place for us. It was a fantastic value when you consider getting to sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    30
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
65
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Worth the journey to Omega Tours. Don't you just love the Germans. Proficiency, patience, resourceful, and professional. Yes, Udo, his wife (my mistake for not remembering her name), and staff do a fabulous job.

Omega Jungle Lodge has a youthful quality with superb engineering. I have visited a couple of times. Each visit you'll find a parade of serious-fun world travelers. They come for the rafting. Word is out! Udo's place rocks for the outdoor lovers who also have an option of comfort.

Take a group to bond or team building moments.

Romantic hikes and bungalows fit the love birds with plenty of privacy (if you even care).

Udo's stone & woodwork should be shared with us back in the States. I want both Udo and the owners of Casa Cangrejal B&B to build me a custom home someday ... soon!

Comfort - more than surpassed my expectations
Restaurant - a couple of open air options (all covered); fresh made meals; simple menu to each dish you'll find very tasty
Bar - stiff drinks with good conversation
Patrons - cordial & adventurous
Rooms - comfortable beds, extremely clean, decor to delight, spartan sparkle
Location - a bit of a haul but stay awhile
Transportation - Omega Jungle Lodge has your covered
Staff - cordial, efficient, swift but deliberate
Internet - works fine but best near main building (did go down but that also happens back in States too)
Grounds - nice stone paths plus nature ones too; superb lighting to guide you to your bungalow during the pitch black jungle nights

Website - http://www.omegatours.info

Loved it. Look forward to returning!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I totally agree with the other reviews regarding Udo and Sylvia (owner/operators of Omega Tours). They are gracious hosts and go the extra mile with EVERYTHING they do. What most people may not know is that Udo and Sylvia built everything that is on the property themselves. This is a blood, sweat and tears operation that has everything to offer. You can have total relaxation, good food, great hosts & staff and outstanding tours. There are hammocks all around the property which welcome you and other guests, since there are plenty to go around. Rudy is busy making his rounds to find out if you want a cold beverage and the pool (filled with river water) awaits you. Udo and Sylvia have thought of everything and make you feel like you are a part of the family that you will definitely not want to leave…or at best, stay longer.

On the horseback riding trip, I came to realize how well respected and admired Sylvia was with all the locals. The men, women and children all ran out to watch us pass and say hell-o to Sylvia. She is a celebrity! I am sure the same is true with Udo as I saw him as the king of the river. The way he maneuvers his kayak through the rapids is something to behold.

We stayed in the Bamboo cabin, which is next to the beauty view cabin. The view was also great and the beds were cozy. We met a lot of great people and enjoyed evenings at the bar laughing and telling stories with other guests and staff. I wish we could have stayed longer, but we had previous reservations in Roatan that had been paid. If I had it to do all over again….I would have stayed longer and spent the extra money! I loved Omega!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Ohio
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful three night stay in the Beauty View cabin! We loved the breathtaking views and the peaceful, secluded setting. It feels almost like being in a luxury treehouse. We enjoyed sitting and watching all that nature had to offer us from our screened-in perch in the jungle. Although there is no A/C, there really was no need for it, especially overnight, and it was nice not having that constant noise. We appreciate their eco-sensitive approach, as well.

We also appreciated how much attention to detail there is, right down to fresh flowers and live plants throughout the cabin. Everything was impeccably clean. The beds were firm and comfy with nice soft sheets, and they offer daily maid service if you want it, but give you your privacy if you prefer.

The food was some of the best we've ever had in Honduras, especially the fish. While it is not "cheap", I definitely feel that we received good value for what we spent. It was well-prepared from fresh ingredients, attractively presented and absolutely delicious!

Our hosts, Udo and Sylvia, were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Their staff were consistently great, as well. We had a fabulous time on the white water swimming/rafting trip we took and were impressed with our guides (Blair did a fantastic job getting us through some tough spots during low water levels) and how safety conscious they are. There were two of us and three guides making sure that we got to the other end in good order. For a first-timer, that made me feel a lot more at ease.

Overall, I can't say enough good things about the Omega Jungle Lodge and could go on and on about the many other unique things it has to offer. You just have to go and experience it!

Room Tip: The Beauty View with its en suite, private bathroom facilities (with a huge, beautiful hot water &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I came and stayed in the BeautyView room on our honeymoon. It is just that! The view was amazing and the room itself is amazing. My husband got a little sticky from the heat at night because no A/C as their are just screens to allow the air to pass through, but I found it nice. He still loved it here though and found the room and views amazing. The food, he had the fruit glazed pork chops and said it was the best meal he has had in a long while. Their chicken schnitzel is really good too and ALOT of food! The Sylvia and Udo were very accomodating and when we were there they were fully booked and busy busy. Met alot of people from around the world so good to hear stories of where they have been and places they most liked along the way. We did the white water rafting and it was as much fun if not better than what I had expected. Jumped off of a large bolder into the river...twice! and with a fear of heights that was a big thing for me! ha ha The guides were very thorough and let us take the time inbetween rappids to relax and take in the atmosphere and views. Along they way they would tell us interesting things and make jokes, etc. They were awesome! Another rafting company came flying up behind us and were gone just as fast, we all said we were glad we didn't go with them. I would bring the kids back here and do more rafting trips again as it was a blast! Thanks to everyone there for making our two nights there on our honeymoon so great! Wish you all the best.

Room Tip: BEAUTYVIEW room is the way to go, it's not that expensive when you compare to other places and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is the second time I've taken a group of students to Omega for a long weekend. Sylvia and Udo make every effort to accommodate whatever we want - there are rooms for all budgets, the setting is beautiful and there are loads of activities on offer. The safety standards for the rafting etc seem to be the best in the area - and they have to be for us to feel confident taking students! Both times we've stated our whole group has thoroughly enjoyed it and doesn't want to leave!!!

Room Tip: Beautyview and Bamboo Cabins are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is my second trip to Omega and it it still a little gem of a place to stay in the jungle mountains an hour outside La Ceiba. The owners are extremely helpful in arranging an itinerary for your stay and will organise tours that are also not part of what they offer. The lodge itself is beautiful. A new yoga platform has just been built overlooking the mountains. The accommodations vary in price. From the basic guesthouse, the creek cabin with the stream running under it to the Bamboo and Beauty View cabins with their hot showers and stunning views. The cabins have mesh sides so you can enjoy the jungle sounds and all are clean and comfortable. In addition there is an outdoor shower, which is an experience and a great way to start the day.
Trips that can be organised include white-water rafting, kayaking, hiking and horse-riding. All have the highest level of instruction and safety procedures.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge

Address: carretera a Yaruca km 9.5 Rio Cangrejal, La Ceiba ----, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in La Ceiba
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The OMEGA TOURS ECO JUNGLE LODGE is nestled between two breathtaking National Parks, and just 10 km from the Caribbean coast. we are in the middle of tropical rain forest with one of the biggest collection of different fruit- and ornamental- plants in Honduras. There is a cool freshwater pool and heaps of hammocks for your relaxation but also jungle trails on the lodge grounds for you to explore. In our Restaurant "La Jungla" we try to serve the freshest, most organic and healthiest food possible. Come and enjoy the relaxed and chilled atmosphere of the lodge and start your outdoor adventures from here: rafting, hiking, horseback riding, kayaking, MTB, animal- and bird- watching.... tours from a half to 21 days! Join us in nature! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Omega Jungle Hotel La Ceiba
Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge Honduras/La Ceiba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.