We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exciting Venture into the Jungle and Then Some” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Ceiba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge
Save
You added Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
carretera a Yaruca km 9.5 Rio Cangrejal, La Ceiba ----, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 La Ceiba B&B and Inns
Zacatecoluca, El Salvador
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“An Exciting Venture into the Jungle and Then Some”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for three days. The grounds are stunniing - you are in the middle of the jungle. We stayed in the Bamboo View cottage - it was like sleeping on a screened porch with complete privacy. When we stayed quiet, we could see amazing birds we had never seen before right outside the window. The food was good, and the owners and staff were amazing. We went white water rafting - I had never done that before and will do it again as soon as I have a chance. I was made to feel comfortable and confident. We also went horseback riding - the horses were very well cared for and well trained. My husband was unsure about doing this as he has always been afraid of horses, but he now tells me that thanks to Nugget (The horse he rode) he is over his fear and looking forward to more rides. The owners were gracious and welcoming, and were very knowledgable about the area and what is available. We were picked up at the ferry from Roatan, which was arrnged by the lodge. We would definitely go back again. Oh - they have a creek fed swimming pool!

Room Tip: The Bamboo View cottage was well worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    27
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
55
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed in the Beauty view cabin and it was gorgeous! This cabin is set into the jungle feels like you are staying in the canopy. Lush, beautiful flowers and trees surround the cabin and the entire lodge's grounds. They arrange a multitude of tours (we went white water rafting - very fun, kayaking to Cacao lagoon - bring insect repellant and hiked to bejuco waterfall - beautiful - the hike was on our own and not with a tour). This is a rather remote location - there is no running to the store to grab water/food/insect repellant/travel supplies, etc. which does force you to rely on the restaurant and lodge for all your food and entertainment. Not necessarily a bad thing but just be prepared when you book. Overall a great experience

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed with my boyfriend at Omega Jungle Lodge for 3 nights and did one full day rafting tour with them. We decided to spend the few extra bucks and stay in the Bamboo Cabin, which was beautiful and way more space than we needed. You feel really immersed in the jungle the whole time. The rafting tour was awesome. If you have an adventurous spirit, do the upper Cangrejal rafting tour. It was really thrilling and we felt that we were in good hands with our tour guides Daniel and Sonny.

The restaurant was amazing. Delicious food for every meal. The owners were nice, and the young ex-pat tour guides were especially wonderful. We had a great time hanging out with them both during our tour and while at the lodge in the bar area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lavaca, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We spent 4 days with Omega tours on a Wicked awesome White Water Rafting excursion on the Rio Sico and had the best time!! The owners Udo and Silvia are great and their staff was wonderful! Very friendly! :) The grounds around the lodge are gorgeous! We stayed in the creek cabin and it was perfect!! a nice hammock to relax in was on the porch overlooking lush jungle and a small creek below! Beautiful!
If you're interested in Rafting, these guys know how to have a good time in a safe environent!! Our guide Allan was such an awesome guy!! We had a wonderful experience with him!! Thank you OMEGA!! Hope to see yall again soon!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and very eco friendly!! Beautiful!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The owners Udo and Silvia have created a gorgeous jungle retreat. Our room beauty cabin was set high in the trees with view of the Pico Bonito Forest. The birds were our natural alarm clock. The cabin is private and very clean. Although we are not rafters, there is plenty to do with hikes, swimming, kyaking, sipping on cocktails (of course!) and horse back riding.
The horse trek takes you into and around the villages. Depending on your experience level, Silvia will make your experience memorable!
The food was awesome! The owners have worked hard to please every type of palate! The fruit melts in your mouth!
We were slightly rushed before arriving, so we didn't not have time to brush up on our Spanish, but it would be helpful and the locals appreciate it or just smile, that says a lot!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

A hidden gem. Backpackers and island hoppers should deffinately stop here for 2 nights to get the variety Honduras offers. 30 minutes in a taxi and you are in the wild! Great contrast to the heat of the coast. Rooms range from free with a tour to luxury. Saw a toucan! Food is great and inexpensive, owners are relaxed and welcoming. Friendly gathering around the bar in the evening. Swim in the river and admire the virgin forest. Walk through the grounds and pick yourself an orange. Go extreme and white water raft, downhill mountain bike or treck to the waterfall. The lodge has many quirky features that have come from the owners passionate use of natural materials (rocks, riverwood) etc

Room Tip: If you only got $10 take the simple white room with comfy bed or take a trip and sleep for free If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

My Daughter was spending the first 2 weeks of our round the world adventure with us in our first stop, Honduras. After diving on Utila we were looking for a couple of days in the jungle before moving on to Copan Ruinas then Daughter home.
We found Omega on the internet and decided to go with them because they offered camping (my partner and I are on a real lean backpacker's budget) and the prices of their tours seemed really good value.
On arrival we were very impressed with the whole set-up. Beautiful gardens and pool/bar area. Washrooms toilets and showers were such an improvement on what we had found on Utila. The catch was the prices for everything except the camping and tours. We were not looking to pay as much anywhere during our time in Honduras as we pay at home in London for food and drink. I was very surprised to find that a Honduran beer at Omega (a $20 taxi ride from La Ceiba) was almost TWICE as expensive as the MOST EXPENSIVE bar on Utila (where everything has to come 20kms by boat). If I wanted to eat my fill of an evening I would be needing one of the more high end dishes, they were 200-250Lims, again nearly twice as much as the most expensive restaurants on Utila. There's the catch.... once you're at Omega there ain't nowhere else to go. At least on Utila the competition keeps the price vaguely realistic.
The tours were very enjoyable, we did the river swim and the horse trek. During the trek it was obvious that Udo and Silvia have not only put a lot of work into their lodge but also into the surrounding community, both on an ecological and financial level. All this should be commended.
Omega is a perfect jungle retreat for those wishing to sample some high end comfort in this all too often still rundown country. However, when they offer tents and dorms and thus sell themselves to backpackers too, then the bar and kitchen prices should not be so artificially high.
Knowing we were coming from Utila, getting the early ferry (too early for any shops in La Ceiba we found out too late), and on a camper's budget, it might have been nice if they could have offered us the advice of getting a later ferry and perhaps then being able to visit the shops on the way up, but I guess that would give the game away? Instead we just arrived and were immediately stunned by the prices on the menu.
All in all, we had a lovely time but our travel funds took a much larger battering than expected. Highly recommended for anyone looking fora touch of luxury and with budget to match. definitely not recommended if you're on a camping/backpacking budget.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget make sure you bring your own food and drink. No use of kitchen but if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge

Address: carretera a Yaruca km 9.5 Rio Cangrejal, La Ceiba ----, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in La Ceiba
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The OMEGA TOURS ECO JUNGLE LODGE is nestled between two breathtaking National Parks, and just 10 km from the Caribbean coast. we are in the middle of tropical rain forest with one of the biggest collection of different fruit- and ornamental- plants in Honduras. There is a cool freshwater pool and heaps of hammocks for your relaxation but also jungle trails on the lodge grounds for you to explore. In our Restaurant "La Jungla" we try to serve the freshest, most organic and healthiest food possible. Come and enjoy the relaxed and chilled atmosphere of the lodge and start your outdoor adventures from here: rafting, hiking, horseback riding, kayaking, MTB, animal- and bird- watching.... tours from a half to 21 days! Join us in nature! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Omega Jungle Hotel La Ceiba
Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge Honduras/La Ceiba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.