We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay of our vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Dona Elena B & B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Dona Elena B & B to your Saves list
Casa Dona Elena B & B
Avenida Centro America | Bo. El Calvario, Copan, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Copan B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
South Haven, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best stay of our vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I wish we could have spent longer here. We were only her for 2 nights but it was the best stay on our whole vacation. The location was great. It was a walk into town but what a great walk! The street of Copan are wonderful and very safe. The hosts here were extremely accommodating. Nery, the owners son, gave us lots of tips and recommendations that we found very useful. He also served as our tour guide at the ruins and did a great job! Also, the breakfast here was wonderful. Way to much food but that's what vacation is all about. The only negative was the power went out a few times a day. But that happens everywhere in Copan. Stay here, you wont regret it!

Room Tip: The rooms in the back of the house have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    16
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
45
27
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent 5 nights staying at Casa Dona Elena and it was a wonderful experience. It was really special because we felt like we were part of Dona Elena's family and it really enhanced our whole trip. The house and garden were beautiful, with amazing views of the Copan Valley. The rooms were comfortable with plenty of hot water in the showers. Every morning Dona Elena cooked something different (and delicious) for breakfast; we opted to eat dinner there every night (at an additional charge, but very reasonable price) and always had wonderful home-cooked comida tipica.

The best part, however, was getting to know Dona Elena and Nery and the family. They were so kind and thoughtful and made us feel so welcome. My 12 year old son became buddies with Dona Elena's grandson and the two of them hung out every day. Nery was so helpful and informative with information about Copan and suggestions for things to do in the area. Dona Elena was incredibly attentive and considerate. The vibe of the household was really great, and there was always company and conversation (and a wonderful cup of coffee) to be had in the communal eating area near the kitchen. After staying in Copan we moved on to a different part of Honduras and stayed in a regular hotel, which was nice but felt somewhat sterile and lonely after 5 days in Dona Elena's warm, friendly household. We definitely missed Casa Dona Elena after we left!

It was the rainy season when we were there, so it rained every night and we did experience short power outages (just an hour or two) on some evenings. Casa Dona Elena has every room prepared for this with candles, which was actually kind of cozy and fun, in a way. During power outages people would gather in the communal eating area and hang out by candlelight. I think it is important to emphasize that if you stay at Casa Dona Elena, you are staying with a normal Honduran family; they don't have backup generators like the expensive hotels. So it is important to have the right attitude about things like power outages and take things like that in stride. For me personally, I found the whole experience to be wonderful, power outages and all. It was our first time in Honduras and such a memorable trip, and I know that staying at Casa Dona Elena had a lot to do with it. I would not hesitate to go back there or recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

For the price you will not find a more beautiful, calm, and comfortable place to stay. The rooms are huge, beds are all full size and pleasantly comfortable, beautifully tiled bathrooms with hot water 24/7- unlike many showers Central America. A full jug of purified water was placed daily in our room. Fresh hot coffee and warmed milk was offered to us from early morning until evening each day. The dawn was truly something to look forward to, waking up to a stunning view right from my bed, or from our balcony just outside of our room door, was honestly the delight of this stay.
Breakfasts was served on arty mahogany wood tables in a tropical garden surrounded strip - starting with seasonal fruit each morning, to fresh scrambled eggs, French toast, pancakes or the typical Hondubreakfast. This serving can easily sustain you until an early evening dinner.
Doña Elena, Nery, and Lupita are an awesome family team, all wonderful hostesses and tremendously helpful with our many questions. We are all awfully thankful for their hospitality to our family. In comparison to our last stay in one of the downtown Hotels, Casa Doña Elena B&B is by far a better choice. For lesser money we had incomparable service, felt right at home, had a bigger and nicer room, and most definitely a BONUS view to the mountains that I will never forget. I would give them ten stars if I could!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We didn't stay there because it was full when we arrived, but they welcomed us and were so friendly they helped us to find another place to stay. The house and garden are beautiful and quite. We saw the rooms, they are clean and nice. We had several meals there, cooked by dona elena, that were delicious and served with fresh juice or lemonade. Nery also organizes cheap and interesting activities such as walks to indigenous villages were you can meet mayan people and discover how they make tortillas, potteries, and their way of living. He can also take you to the hotsprings, or bird sanctuary, and is also an official guide at the ruins. We highly recommend you to stay there with this nice family, it's probably te best deal in all Copan and a human experience!

Thank you so much for your warm welcoming!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights and we have been very happy!
Dona Elena and the rest of the family make you feeling like home and they are so kind and helpful the all time!
We had the biggest room, which it has a beautiful view of the mountains and the room is new and clean with very conformable double beds and a nice balcony to look at the fantastic landscape!
They have a lovely dog called Lucky and he kept us company sometimes, as we missed our dogs!
Nery, the son of Dona Elena, and his family organized us a nice surprise for our 1st year marriage anniversary; we did not expect it and it has really been a great and appreciated surprise.
This family really makes you feeling like home!!!!! They are great!
WE DO RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: Ask for the Cielo room, it s very nice with an amazing view of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights while we were in town to see the Copan Mayan ruins. The whole family was very welcoming, including the friendly dog (we miss having pets!). Doña Elena herself prepared a typical dinner for us one night when electricity went out in the whole village and I thought we wouldn't be able to find somewhere for a meal. Our room was large and clean with comfy beds and a good bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Cortes, Honduras
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

More than just a b&b, the Casa Dona Elena is a wonderful place to stay that will fully take care of all of your needs. They have many modern amenities like hot water, tvs, and wifi, all while maintaining the true feeling of Copan. The food is always amazing and served fresh, and meal times are great opportunities to meet and talk with locals and other visitors.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Dona Elena B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dona Elena B & B

Address: Avenida Centro America | Bo. El Calvario, Copan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Copan Department > Copan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Copan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Dona Elena B&B is owned and operated by a local family dedicated to hosting and care of travelers for more than 15 years. Our strategic location in the heights of Copan Ruinas is set away from the noises of the lively downtown, yet only a few minutes from all main points of interest. Besides, the best panoramic view of the valley and it's surrounding mountains right from your room's balcony also surrounded by open areas with tropical gardens that promise to make you feel relaxed and at peace. Each room is equipped with: - Full size beds with firm Pillow-top mattresses​- Bed-side table with night lamp​- Private Hot-water bathroom​- LCD Cable TV​- Breezy yet silent ceiling fan​- A/C Units​ - Panoramic windows viewing mountain and/or garden​- Private balcony or patio​- Fast speed Wi-Fi​- Lots of space and hygiene. Come stay with us, you'll be happy you did! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Dona Elena B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Dona Elena B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.