We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda San Lucas

Hacienda San Lucas
Copan Ruinas, Copan, Honduras
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 32 Restaurants in Copan
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: you guys have this hotel listed (it is an awesome hotel), but they also have a restaurant with some of the best food in copan. it should be listed for the restaurant too!
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had dinner here. Very tasty, beautiful presentation. The corn soup was incredible. Be aware the the cost is more then the guide books say - the guidebooks are not updated well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    15
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“San Cheese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice selection of home made cheeses. Good sandwiches and cheese plates. Nice garden setting. Very good service

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utila
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best dining experience I have ever had in Honduras, and I live here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

From the moment you round the last bend as your tuc-tuc pulls into the hacienda you realize this is a special place. The owner greeted us and steered us towards an awiting bar staff who took our drink order and pointed toward the long lawn and invited is to take a seat and enjoy the view, which was the entire Copan valley. Our drinks came and we just sat there watching the sunset and beautiful birds. Then the staff as it got dark invited us to come and take a seat on the veranda for dinner. A 5 course Honduran meal was served and it was anything but "tipico", it was fantastic. The owner made her rounds and spent a little time with every guest. The service was awesome as was the ambiance, perfectly romantic and quaint candle lit. This is a must for anyone that travels to Copan, We will go again for sure.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT EVERYTHING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Loved the setting, the people working there were great and understand real service. And the coffee was great as well as breakfast

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utila, Honduras
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
“still my favorite honduran restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

we had yet another fantastic evening at hacienda san lucas last night. i took a couple of friends who have been living in honduras for three years and they agreed it was in a different league than any other honduran food they had eaten. like me on my first visit, they were also pleasantly surprised by the friendly, professional service (almost non existent in this country), the subtle flavors and the lovely atmosphere. if you visit copan or are an expat living in honduras, you owe it to yourself to visit hacienda san lucas.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hacienda San Lucas also viewed

Copan, Copan Department
Copan, Copan Department
 

Been to Hacienda San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda San Lucas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.